red algea

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by donovan busse, 9 Oct 2013.

  1. donovan busse

    donovan busse

    Joined:
    9 Oct 2013
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey there. I've got red algea in my tank and do not know how to get rid of it. I have been told to do water changes and i have done so once a month but with no success. any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. EFJ

    EFJ MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    13 Sep 2011
    Posts:
    1,540
    Likes Received:
    278
    Location:
    Dwaalboom 60km's from Thabazimbi
    Pictures says a thousand words. How does it look, is it slimy, hairy, bubbly etc.?
     
  4. donovan busse

    donovan busse Thread Starter

    Joined:
    9 Oct 2013
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would say it is slimey with bubbles.
     
  5. EFJ

    EFJ MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    13 Sep 2011
    Posts:
    1,540
    Likes Received:
    278
    Location:
    Dwaalboom 60km's from Thabazimbi
    Can you give a description of your setup, how much livestock, what size skimmer are you using, do you use RO or tap water etc. It sounds like cyno, usually from overfeeding or to little flow.
     
  6. donovan busse

    donovan busse Thread Starter

    Joined:
    9 Oct 2013
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've got the 550 boyu tank with the standard boyu filtration system. The two tone florescent light, and a. Big air stone.
     
  7. MistaOrange

    MistaOrange

    Joined:
    20 Jan 2010
    Posts:
    7,756
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Somewhere in Cape Town
    Sounds like cyno bacteria what flow have you got in your tank? You may need to add some more flow in your tank...
     
  8. JamesHunter

    JamesHunter

    Joined:
    31 Jan 2013
    Posts:
    387
    Likes Received:
    4
    If its the 550 normal water return bar then i agree thats the issue
     
  9. MistaOrange

    MistaOrange

    Joined:
    20 Jan 2010
    Posts:
    7,756
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Somewhere in Cape Town
    Agree...:thumbup:
     
  10. donovan busse

    donovan busse Thread Starter

    Joined:
    9 Oct 2013
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks I will give that a go. I have been wanting to get a powerhead.
     
  11. EFJ

    EFJ MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    13 Sep 2011
    Posts:
    1,540
    Likes Received:
    278
    Location:
    Dwaalboom 60km's from Thabazimbi
    That will be a good idea. Flow in a tank is in my opinion the most important and then lighting. How much livestock do you have and how much do you feed? Overfeeding can also lead to cyno.
     
  12. donovan busse

    donovan busse Thread Starter

    Joined:
    9 Oct 2013
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have got one anthias. Hoping to got more fish in the season. I use to have a 4ft tank and never had this problem. I thought being a boyu tank it would have been ok with flow. Lol obvios not and as the feeding goes I give a tiny pinch. But maybe that tiny pinch could be just too much, enough for the bacteria to grow.
     
  13. Esmond

    Esmond

    Joined:
    9 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    509
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Johannesburg
  14. Zandy

    Zandy

    Joined:
    10 Oct 2012
    Posts:
    2,504
    Likes Received:
    10
    Just reading this , i would like to know why do you have an airstone in your tank? Have you added a powerhead as yet? The spraybar from the Boyo TL550 should be enough water aggitation on top that you won't need an airstone? Or perhaps there is another reason for adding the airstone?
    ;)
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - algea Forum Date
[wtd] Macro algea in PE Wanted 8 Aug 2016
Algea Scrubber Anything DIY Related 11 Apr 2016
Brown algea advice needed.. Advanced Topics 8 Apr 2016
[wtd] Macroalgea Wanted 10 Feb 2016
[wtd] Uv-Algea X bulb needed Wanted 10 May 2015
What type of algea is this, Nuisance Algae 28 Mar 2015
macro Algea wanted Wanted 2 Dec 2014