reactor vs phosguard in media tray in nano

Discussion in 'Chemical Filtration / Low Nutrient Systems - LNS' started by clownaround, 20 Jan 2015.

  1. clownaround

    clownaround

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2014
    Posts:
    85
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    East London
    Ive been looking at adding a media reactir to run phosguard in my nano cube. How does this compare to running phosguard in media bag in filtrartion chambers?

    You experience is much appreciated.
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. zippy

    zippy

    Joined:
    30 Nov 2014
    Posts:
    588
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Alberton
    how do you plan to reduce the nitrates?
     
  4. clownaround

    clownaround Thread Starter

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2014
    Posts:
    85
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    East London
    I run carbon in over flow, purigin and have a skimmer and have been using phospguard in a bag. I also run seachems seagel.

    would running seagel in reactor be a better option and would it be an improvement to what I am running already?
     
  5. 459b

    459b Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    9,738
    Likes Received:
    785
    Location:
    Cape Town
    If the flow rate through the filtration chamber is adequate then placing it in a bag is fine.
     
  6. clownaround

    clownaround Thread Starter

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2014
    Posts:
    85
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    East London
    thanks, have just seen a sweet lil reef octopus one at my LFS and thought it it would fit my setup. but no point if it's not going to improve anything as they obviously aren't cheap.
     
  7. zippy

    zippy

    Joined:
    30 Nov 2014
    Posts:
    588
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Alberton
    got a picture there?

    Whatever you do don't run carbon in a reactor, or never have it tumbling in the reactor, Carbon needs to sit dead still and needs replacing on a monthly basis. The phosguard and GFH can be tumbled. As little movement as possible would be great, as long as you have water passing each particle of the GFH o Phosguard.

    Not sure how much of a diy'er you are but this may help:

    My Nano Build
     
  8. Qball_V1.0

    Qball_V1.0

    Joined:
    8 Oct 2012
    Posts:
    241
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    East London
    Ive used both methods and personally I prefer the reactor route. I still run carbon and GFO in media bags in my sons tank. Just noticed better results in the reactor on my tank.
    But as the guys said, don't let the carbon tumble around.
     
  9. carlosdeandrade

    carlosdeandrade

    Joined:
    24 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    8,230
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    North Riding, Jozi
    Remember to rinse the phosgaurd in some RO water before placing it in the reactor. It does not need to tumble in the reactor, but always make sure there is great water flow through the phosgauard. Keep testing the water, depending on the amount of PO4 replenishing or removing might be necessary. You also must find the source of your PO4, how much do you feed, is it your rocks, detritus build up in your sump or tank (this needs to be siphoned out)?
     
    Jenaid likes this.
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - reactor phosguard media Forum Date
DIY dual reactors -Phosguard & GaC Anything DIY Related 2 May 2015
Phosguard in fluidized reactor General Discussions and Advice 18 Sep 2014
Macro Algae (Cheato) reactor Anything DIY Related 26 Oct 2016
[wtd] calcium reactor Wanted 23 Oct 2016
[wtd] Media Reactor Wanted 18 Oct 2016
[wtd] Large reactor Wanted 17 Oct 2016
[wtd] Complete Aqua Medic KR 5000 Calcium Reactor Wanted 1 Oct 2016