Reactivating question

Discussion in 'Chemical Filtration / Low Nutrient Systems - LNS' started by mike Bushie, 24 Oct 2008.

  1. mike Bushie

    mike Bushie

    Joined:
    14 Apr 2008
    Posts:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    johannesburg
    Hey guys i need to reactivate my phosphate remover.
    Now i know that you need to stick it in Bleach or something. I threw away the box so i don't know how long to leave it in the bleach for.
    as well as what should i do after the bleaching is done. Ie how long before i can put it back in the sump:)
     
  2. Guest




  3. Puppy

    Puppy Lives for SPS

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    531
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Mike what brand of phosphate remover is it?
     
  4. OP
    mike Bushie

    mike Bushie

    Joined:
    14 Apr 2008
    Posts:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    johannesburg
    hmmm i don't know. i bought some off matt. i will ask him.
     
  5. Matt

    Matt

    Joined:
    5 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    1,907
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    JHB
    AquiPHOS from aquilibria.
     
  6. OP
    mike Bushie

    mike Bushie

    Joined:
    14 Apr 2008
    Posts:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    johannesburg
    shot matt
     
  7. OP
    mike Bushie

    mike Bushie

    Joined:
    14 Apr 2008
    Posts:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    johannesburg
    so does anybody know.
     
  8. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    28,776
    Likes Received:
    1,018
    Isn't the bleach method for Purigen and not phosphate media? I don't think you can regenerate phosphate media, but I may be wrong.
     
  9. OP
    mike Bushie

    mike Bushie

    Joined:
    14 Apr 2008
    Posts:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    johannesburg
    as far as i can remember you can with this one.
     
  10. brentnorm

    brentnorm

    Joined:
    6 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    2,200
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Cape Town
    If you are able to regenerate it with bleech your next step would be to thoroughly rinse it and then dechloronate with something like Seachem Prime.
     
  11. brentnorm

    brentnorm

    Joined:
    6 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    2,200
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Seachem Phosguard can definately NOT be regenerated.
     
  12. Rory

    Rory Admin

    Joined:
    5 May 2007
    Posts:
    4,854
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    JHB
    Phosguard can't be regenerated unfortunately. (cos it's $$$)
    Seachem Purigen can.

    Aquiphos and other ferros oxide based removers, I doubt it.
     
  13. Matt

    Matt

    Joined:
    5 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    1,907
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    JHB
    Mike I also remember reading on the container it can be regenerated. Ask Palmerc in the other place where people sometimes chat about some sort of things... occasionally. Haha :lol:
     

Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Reactivating question Forum Date
Live Rock Questions General Discussions and Advice Monday at 07:21
Newbie Questions Beginner Discussions 18 Jul 2017
TL450 Glass base question Boyu TL450 and TL550 advice 12 Jun 2017
A beginner with a few questions Beginner Discussions 15 May 2017
Questions about reducing NO3 media/methods Advanced Topics 8 May 2017
"Nano/small" reef aquarium - questions Beginner Discussions 20 Apr 2017
bulk calcium question Chemical Filtration / Low Nutrient Systems - LNS 2 Apr 2017