Re-Scaping Questions and Substrate Depth

Discussion in 'Aquascaping' started by Ebi Omer, 19 Jun 2014.

  1. Ebi Omer

    Ebi Omer

    Joined:
    17 Oct 2012
    Posts:
    801
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Boksburg
    Hi guys.

    My tank is running almost 4 weeks with aragonite and rock that I kept alive in a bucket which was from a mature tank.

    I have 5cm of substrate and want to reduce to 2cm. Would this be a good idea?

    At the same time I was thinking of doing a total rescape of rocks.

    I currently have 2 clowns, 1 regal tang, 1 cleaner shrimp and a few corals.

    Should I remove the fish temporarily?

    After the scaping and substrate removal is done I will immediately add Seachem Stability to replace bacteria lost.

    Any advice while doing this?
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    seems ok, no need to remove fish, i would plan the rough scape before and only use rock already in your tank unless you ad cured base rock.
    i would dose stability 2 days before and continue for a week after, as the gravel will host some bacteria, ideally removing the gravel a few days before to lessen the impact, like 4 cups a day then a few days later remove the rest...
    the key is to minimise the loss of bacteria
     
  4. Ebi Omer

    Ebi Omer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    17 Oct 2012
    Posts:
    801
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Boksburg
    I just don't want my regal to stress out too much as it's only been 3 weeks since I got him. He started eating properly only a few days ago. I'm afraid doing the scape with him in the tank might just put too much stress on him.

    Or am I being paranoid for no reason.
     
  5. Ebi Omer

    Ebi Omer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    17 Oct 2012
    Posts:
    801
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Boksburg
    @dallasg what would 'cured' base rock mean.

    I do intend adding a little more base rock
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  6. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,163
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    Centurion
    On your next water change, siphon out some of the substrate. Do not need to remove all the sand in one day. Can do more next water change.

    That way you will have less milky water and no mess all over.
     
  7. Ebi Omer

    Ebi Omer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    17 Oct 2012
    Posts:
    801
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Boksburg
    @RiaanP so I trust it is better to have less than 5cm of substrate?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  8. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,163
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    Centurion
    Depends on your preference. But some wrasses that sleeps within the substrate might like you a bit more for giving them a deeper bed.

    Also the sand will move over time. And you will find places that will be deeper and other places almost exposing the blass bottom. I prefer about 5cm.
     
  9. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    nothing wrong with 5cm

    cured rock is rock that wont have any die off, so LR from exisiting tank, or that boxed carib sea rock etc
     
  10. Ebi Omer

    Ebi Omer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    17 Oct 2012
    Posts:
    801
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Boksburg
    I actually prefer 5cm, but was just concerned about detritus build up.
     
  11. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    you can use gobies, valencia sexgutta are the best, starfish, sand sifting starfish, or siphon through filter floss...
    i run 5cm+ and no issues
     
  12. Ebi Omer

    Ebi Omer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    17 Oct 2012
    Posts:
    801
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Boksburg
    @dallasg do you siphon. And how often?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  13. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    maybe once a month, i siphon from DT to sump through a filter sock with filter floss
     
    Ebi Omer likes this.
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Scaping Questions Substrate Forum Date
Aquascaping Base Rock ► Sponsor Request Forum 13 Apr 2015
Caribsea South Seas Aquascaping Rock General Discussions and Advice 17 Dec 2014
Old vs New scaping Aquascaping 8 Dec 2014
How do you prefer your scaping General Discussions and Advice 24 Nov 2014
new aquascaping Beginner Discussions 7 Oct 2014
Aquascaping cement? Aquascaping 27 Aug 2014
Aquascaping idea. Aquascaping 23 Apr 2014