Raytone's diy phosphate reactor

Discussion in 'Anything DIY Related' started by raytone, 9 Apr 2012.

  1. raytone

    raytone Raytone

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2011
    Posts:
    429
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    witbank Mpumalanga
    Hi all. I have decided to try build a phosphate reactor.
    Here is some pics as i know you all LIKE pics.
    Please help me if i need to make any changes,thanks

    [​IMG]

    This is the things i bought

    [​IMG]

    Drilling the holes

    [​IMG]

    installing the outlet

    [​IMG]

    installing the inlet

    [​IMG]

    and the inlet down pipe

    [​IMG]

    Installing the sif for return

    [​IMG]

    and the final result
    so how is it?
     
    magman likes this.
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. butcherman

    butcherman Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 Sep 2009
    Posts:
    11,626
    Likes Received:
    280
    Location:
    Kempton Park
    Not bad at all, The proof is in the pudding. Put some GFO in and see if it agitates the gfo evenly, if so then it will work terrifically.
     
  4. raytone

    raytone Thread Starter Raytone

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2011
    Posts:
    429
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    witbank Mpumalanga
    Cool what product is that? I have SEACHEM PHOSGUARD and its working wery well
     
  5. Clownfish9906

    Clownfish9906

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2012
    Posts:
    688
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Midrand, Gauteng
    hey Raytone

    Awesome build!

    I also thought of building a NP Reactor but with two cross drilled baffles fitted onto the blue pipe you have going down to the bottom. Water would escape the bottom, agitate the media and rush out the top via an outlet...
     
  6. 459b

    459b Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    9,748
    Likes Received:
    789
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Be careful fluidsing phosgaurd, it tends to break up if flow is too strong.
    GFO is products like rowa phos.
     
    ScottK and butcherman like this.
  7. butcherman

    butcherman Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 Sep 2009
    Posts:
    11,626
    Likes Received:
    280
    Location:
    Kempton Park
    good advice :thumbup:
    stick to it if it's working.
     
  8. ScottK

    ScottK

    Joined:
    16 May 2011
    Posts:
    766
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    Looks good, very neat and well finished :) Are you planning on running GFO or something more solid like Seachem PhosGuard?

    I would drop the mesh as it will eventually just get clogged and hamper flow, you will also need to continuously clean it. If the height of the outlet is high enough vs the flow needed to gently tumble the media you should have none escaping anyway.

    One other thing, if you are going to add a valve to control flow do it on the outlet rather than the inlet.
     
  9. ScottK

    ScottK

    Joined:
    16 May 2011
    Posts:
    766
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    Completely agree. PhosGuard or any other aluminum based phos removal media is apparantly also not the friendliest to softies. I used to run PhosGuard and changed to a GFO based media, seems to do a better job and lasts longer IMO.
     
  10. Tiger eye

    Tiger eye

    Joined:
    2 Aug 2010
    Posts:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Centurion, PTA
    That looks fantastic. Great idea. I wish had seen this a long time ago, it looks so mutch better than my DIY. Phosphate remover.
     
  11. raytone

    raytone Thread Starter Raytone

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2011
    Posts:
    429
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    witbank Mpumalanga
    Ok didn't know that. My LFS recommend it to me. Will get GFO asap. I will monitor the outlet sif and see how long it takes to clog up. Thats why i used a plastic tea sif on the outlet which is much bigger than the pipe size so the outlet won't clog up easily, it will distribute flow
     
  12. ScottK

    ScottK

    Joined:
    16 May 2011
    Posts:
    766
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    PhosGuard is a very good product but even the instructions state to rinse it extremely well as the dust can have an adverse affect on soft corals. If you fluidize it too much there will be constant dust going into your display. If you use it correctly there is absolutely noting wrong with it and many people use it with no issues at all.
     
  13. raytone

    raytone Thread Starter Raytone

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2011
    Posts:
    429
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    witbank Mpumalanga
    So if i added medium flow just enough to tumble the media will that be to strong?
     
  14. raytone

    raytone Thread Starter Raytone

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2011
    Posts:
    429
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    witbank Mpumalanga
  15. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,163
    Likes Received:
    1,231
    Location:
    Centurion
    only possible issue could be the rubber seal not lasting due to the salt erosion. But your outlet is low enough, and your flow could be set so that the water do not push against the lid.

    Nice build
     
  16. fly*

    fly* MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    1 Feb 2010
    Posts:
    472
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Roodepoort, JHB
    Yeah I tried something similar awhile back but the seal was no good and it sprung a leak shortly after using it. Otherwise nice DIY dude :)
     
  17. raytone

    raytone Thread Starter Raytone

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2011
    Posts:
    429
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    witbank Mpumalanga
    Cool, thanks all you guys. I've checked the seal and lid locks before i bought the container. The seal is made of red silicone rubber so it's far better than the normal black rubber
     
  18. VicZA

    VicZA

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2013
    Posts:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Nelspruit
    @raytone I know this is an old thread but I am looking at building one of these and was wondering :

    - you still using this ?
    - you made any improvements ?
    - you using PhosGuard or GFO ?
    - any other tips and advice ?

    Thanks
    Vic
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  19. nepellew

    nepellew

    Joined:
    11 Oct 2010
    Posts:
    757
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    glenmore
    bump update time pls
     
  20. nudibranch

    nudibranch

    Joined:
    9 Oct 2013
    Posts:
    601
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Fourways, Jhb
    @VicZA, did you ever build one?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  21. VicZA

    VicZA

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2013
    Posts:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Nelspruit
    Hey @nudibranch ... no I never did. I started using NOPOX for phosphates and it works for me so never got around to this
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Raytone's phosphate reactor Forum Date
Reducing Nitrates & Phosphates Water Parameters and Additives 28 Nov 2016
Filtration pad phosphate remover General Discussions and Advice 12 Oct 2016
[wtd] Phosphate reator Wanted 8 Aug 2016
Red Sea NO3:PO4-X (NOPOX) - Your Solution For Nitrate, Phosphate & Algae Management JungleAquatics.NET BLOG 1 Jul 2016
Red Sea NO3:PO4-X (NOPOX) - Your Solution For Nitrate, Phosphate & Algae Management JungleAquatics.NET BLOG 21 May 2016
[wtd] Phosphate reactor Wanted 27 Mar 2016
Need to get rid of Phosphates in your aquarium? The ATI Phosphate Stop is great... JungleAquatics.NET BLOG 9 Jun 2015