Rate of RO water filtration.

Discussion in 'Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers' started by Ian Gibson, 23 May 2007.

  1. Ian Gibson

    Ian Gibson

    Joined:
    11 May 2007
    Posts:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys.

    I wanna know what the rate of your purified RO water is. I have a relatively old easyline 90 aquamedic RO unit. I is producing a lot of water and I am scared that it might be faulty, maybe not filtering that well. It does have a restrictor on the waste outlet. What factors could influence the rate of purified water(I guess pressure)

    Thanx Ian
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. SIMS

    SIMS

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    3,008
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Empangeni
    hmmm...easy get a TDS and check....
     
  4. Ian Gibson

    Ian Gibson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    11 May 2007
    Posts:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ya waiting for mine. I guess that should solve it.
     
  5. Dober Man

    Dober Man

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    486
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Capital of India
    Have you ever changed the membranes?
     
  6. Ian Gibson

    Ian Gibson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    11 May 2007
    Posts:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    No do you know where I can get some and how much are they( its a carbon and a sediment prefilter)
     
  7. SIMS

    SIMS

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    3,008
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Empangeni
    speak to Marco I am sure he can either point you in the correct dirrection or help you out - but a TDS is a good start.
     
  8. Rory

    Rory Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    5 May 2007
    Posts:
    4,850
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    JHB
    How much is "a lot of water"? If it's "relatively old" it's probably badly in need of a membrane anyway...
     
  9. irie ivan

    irie ivan MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    3,149
    Likes Received:
    171
    Location:
    Bracken
    I must say i had similar concers a few months ago, as my ro unit works very hard (20 litre top up per day and regular waterchanges)
    tested my tds and it came out at a whole whopping 3.
    Got another membrane for free, but decided not to install it until tds rises to higher level.
     
  10. Copperband

    Copperband

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    842
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Jo'kwane
    Guys what is the top TDS reading before you would change the membrane?
     
  11. Rory

    Rory Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    5 May 2007
    Posts:
    4,850
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    JHB
    Depends on what's dissolved :p
     
  12. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,988
    Likes Received:
    781
    Personally I wouldn't like to go above 10. When mine hits 3 or 4 then I order new prefilters and it drops back down to 0, I would assume when it doesn't drop back down to 0 then it's time for a new membrane.
     
    Copperband likes this.
  13. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    from where can i get a TDS meter?
     
  14. Alan

    Alan Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    5,974
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    KZN
    Mekaeel, Waterboy sells them.
     
  15. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    thanks alan.will contact marco then :)
     
  16. Copperband

    Copperband

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    842
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Jo'kwane
    thanx for the answer Viper much appreciated.
     
  17. TheWaterboy

    TheWaterboy Sponsor

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    Durban
    those aquamedic easyline units come with a 24 gpd membrane....that means your machine should not be producing more than 91.2 litres per 24 hours at 4 bar pressure, it can be upgraded to a 50 gpd membrane as our reefmaster units come ( 190 litres per 24 hours)
    i have stock of t.d.s meters aswell as membranes and the pre-filter you need.......also bare in mind if you would like the larger membrane (reccommended) i will supply you with larger pre-filters to to cope with the water demand...........
    not trying to mock or down play another machine, but the easyline's pre filters are not desined for the flow that runs through them.......as a matter of fact, the pre-filters on that machine are used by lg an samsung for there refrigerator filters
    as for what t.d.s reading is acceptable.........generally you safe up to a t.d.s of 15 (depending on what the 15 consists of)...,......but i like to keep it in the waterboy range........0 - 1.....lol:lol: :whistling:
     
  18. Ian Gibson

    Ian Gibson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    11 May 2007
    Posts:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanx marco

    Can you please pm me the prices of those prefilters. One sediment and one carbon. If I have the cash later I would upgrade to one of your units.

    Thanx Ian
     
  19. djmurray

    djmurray Email me about anything

    Joined:
    20 May 2007
    Posts:
    295
    Likes Received:
    0
    If its pumping out 'lots of water than it could be the membrane but some RO units do produce allot of water like 500/24hr but those are the new units but normally it should just drip or run slightly and the waste should be quite a strong flow
     
  20. TheWaterboy

    TheWaterboy Sponsor

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    Durban
    yikes........djmurray if the unit is producing 500 litres per 24 hours.......and it is a standard unit.................then there is something very wrong, possibly a blown membrane or no membrane at all...........the waste should also not be strong.......just a constant trickle / pour through the 1/4" (6mm) tubing
    cool;)
     
  21. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    mines takes about +-3 hours to make a 25L drum of RO
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Rate water filtration Forum Date
Corals and Sea fans in temperate waters Advanced Topics 9 Feb 2016
ALGONE Aquarium Water Clarifier & Nitrate Remover Chemical Filtration / Low Nutrient Systems - LNS 14 Feb 2013
Nitrates, Phosphates and water changes Beginner Discussions 29 Jul 2009
Evaporated water Water Parameters and Additives 2 Jul 2009
Starfish, Algae and the nitrate flavoured water Nuisance Algae 17 Nov 2008
Digital and good accurate water parameter test kits Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers 30 Jul 2008
[wtd] substrate Durban Wanted 54 minutes ago