Rate of RO water filtration.

Joined
11 May 2007
Posts
24
Reaction score
0
Hey guys.

I wanna know what the rate of your purified RO water is. I have a relatively old easyline 90 aquamedic RO unit. I is producing a lot of water and I am scared that it might be faulty, maybe not filtering that well. It does have a restrictor on the waste outlet. What factors could influence the rate of purified water(I guess pressure)

Thanx Ian
 
Joined
7 May 2007
Posts
485
Reaction score
4
Location
Capital of India
Have you ever changed the membranes?
 
Joined
11 May 2007
Posts
24
Reaction score
0
No do you know where I can get some and how much are they( its a carbon and a sediment prefilter)
 
Joined
6 May 2007
Posts
3,008
Reaction score
17
Location
Empangeni
speak to Marco I am sure he can either point you in the correct dirrection or help you out - but a TDS is a good start.
 

Rory

Admin
Joined
5 May 2007
Posts
4,857
Reaction score
37
Location
JHB
How much is "a lot of water"? If it's "relatively old" it's probably badly in need of a membrane anyway...
 
Joined
6 May 2007
Posts
3,711
Reaction score
426
Location
Bracken
I must say i had similar concers a few months ago, as my ro unit works very hard (20 litre top up per day and regular waterchanges)
tested my tds and it came out at a whole whopping 3.
Got another membrane for free, but decided not to install it until tds rises to higher level.
 

viper357

Admin
Joined
4 May 2007
Posts
29,910
Reaction score
1,419
Guys what is the top TDS reading before you would change the membrane?
Personally I wouldn't like to go above 10. When mine hits 3 or 4 then I order new prefilters and it drops back down to 0, I would assume when it doesn't drop back down to 0 then it's time for a new membrane.
 
Joined
6 May 2007
Posts
2,194
Reaction score
98
Location
Durban
those aquamedic easyline units come with a 24 gpd membrane....that means your machine should not be producing more than 91.2 litres per 24 hours at 4 bar pressure, it can be upgraded to a 50 gpd membrane as our reefmaster units come ( 190 litres per 24 hours)
i have stock of t.d.s meters aswell as membranes and the pre-filter you need.......also bare in mind if you would like the larger membrane (reccommended) i will supply you with larger pre-filters to to cope with the water demand...........
not trying to mock or down play another machine, but the easyline's pre filters are not desined for the flow that runs through them.......as a matter of fact, the pre-filters on that machine are used by lg an samsung for there refrigerator filters
as for what t.d.s reading is acceptable.........generally you safe up to a t.d.s of 15 (depending on what the 15 consists of)...,......but i like to keep it in the waterboy range........0 - 1.....lol:lol: :whistling:
 
Joined
11 May 2007
Posts
24
Reaction score
0
Thanx marco

Can you please pm me the prices of those prefilters. One sediment and one carbon. If I have the cash later I would upgrade to one of your units.

Thanx Ian
 

djmurray

Email me about anything
Joined
20 May 2007
Posts
295
Reaction score
0
If its pumping out 'lots of water than it could be the membrane but some RO units do produce allot of water like 500/24hr but those are the new units but normally it should just drip or run slightly and the waste should be quite a strong flow
 
Joined
6 May 2007
Posts
2,194
Reaction score
98
Location
Durban
If its pumping out 'lots of water than it could be the membrane but some RO units do produce allot of water like 500/24hr but those are the new units but normally it should just drip or run slightly and the waste should be quite a strong flow
yikes........djmurray if the unit is producing 500 litres per 24 hours.......and it is a standard unit.................then there is something very wrong, possibly a blown membrane or no membrane at all...........the waste should also not be strong.......just a constant trickle / pour through the 1/4" (6mm) tubing
cool;)
 

Top