Raising mg levels to stop Hair algae

Joined
7 May 2007
Posts
153
Reaction score
1
I've heard that by raising the levels of mg in the system, it helps to control algae.
I want to try this as my Hair algae is outta control. I'll scrub it all off and 2 weeks later its about 1-2cm long again.
I don't have a mg test kit so will have to go by observation. What could the negative effects and signs be of dosing too much?
How much should I dose? and How?
At the moment, I'm running aquiPhos pellets and dosing liquid phos remover every week...with no visible reduction in algae growth. And its starting to really make me wanna chuck everything, but my corals are looking really good.
Its a +-200Lt system, 2x 24W t5 (10Hrs/day), mostly softies but got some LPS and SPS. 2 x wrasse and a clown. Last time I tested, nitrate was about 3-5. Phos undetected by sh1t test kit (nutrafin).
 

viper357

Admin
Joined
4 May 2007
Posts
29,903
Reaction score
1,417
Shane, from what I have read, an increase in magnesium is only beneficial in the removal of bryopsis algae and does not work for hair algae.

I have a link somewhere that explains it rather nicely with all the technical terms and what not, I will have a look for it later this evening.
 
Joined
7 May 2007
Posts
153
Reaction score
1
Cool thanks Viper.... any suggestions for my situation? You must've tried a few things...anything help at all?
 
Joined
6 May 2007
Posts
134
Reaction score
1
Location
Cape Town
Shane, find the source first.
Phosphate will show zero on the test kits.(Being used up before you can test for it.)
There is only one factor that brings algae(And yes the only one): Excess nutrients.
Forget about raising magnesium.Keep removing the algae manually and keep dosing phosphate remover.
 

viper357

Admin
Joined
4 May 2007
Posts
29,903
Reaction score
1,417
Cool thanks Viper.... any suggestions for my situation? You must've tried a few things...anything help at all?
yip, tried lots of things, have now resorted to removing ALL rock and substrate from tank, will be cooking rock for a few months and will be putting in new substrate.
 
Joined
7 May 2007
Posts
1,103
Reaction score
11
Location
Hillcrest
I had the same problem with hair algea a while back. Try and switch to GOOD RO water something with a tds of 0. Get good quality salt and do regular water changes.
What rock do you have in your tank and what substrate are you using ?
 
Joined
7 May 2007
Posts
153
Reaction score
1
I'm using RO Tds 0 (I assume), Its the Reefmaster plus.
Using Live Sand as substrate... and LR as well as some sandstone.
 
Joined
12 May 2007
Posts
642
Reaction score
7
Location
Edenvale, Johannesburg
I've heard that by raising the levels of mg in the system, it helps to control algae.
I want to try this as my Hair algae is outta control. I'll scrub it all off and 2 weeks later its about 1-2cm long again.
I don't have a mg test kit so will have to go by observation. What could the negative effects and signs be of dosing too much?
How much should I dose? and How?
At the moment, I'm running aquiPhos pellets and dosing liquid phos remover every week...with no visible reduction in algae growth. And its starting to really make me wanna chuck everything, but my corals are looking really good.
Its a +-200Lt system, 2x 24W t5 (10Hrs/day), mostly softies but got some LPS and SPS. 2 x wrasse and a clown. Last time I tested, nitrate was about 3-5. Phos undetected by sh1t test kit (nutrafin).
Mr L (Stefan) has started running high magnesium levels in an attempt to control the hair algae in his system. He is running at around 1500ppm Mg (only for about a week so far).

Maybe you can contact him in a couple of weeks to see how it is working for him.

Clinton
 

Galibore

Retired Moderator
Joined
6 May 2007
Posts
2,828
Reaction score
19
Location
Germiston
Shane,

When you say Live Sand, do you mean sand from the ocean? If so, how long has it been in there. There can be quite a bit of die off from live sand and it will probably take quite some time to finish dieing off (if I can say that).
 
Joined
11 May 2007
Posts
861
Reaction score
10
Location
Randburg-Gauteng
I agree with Mashrie. Do not fiddle with water parameters , if you up the Magnesium levels you should up the calcium, berylium, boron, manganese, alkalinity etc etc. Sandstone has been reported to leach all sorts of nasty elements in the past but i guess it depends on where collection took place and what potential nasty chemicals it was/is exposed to.
 
Joined
6 May 2007
Posts
745
Reaction score
2
Location
the slums
midas that makes sense dude, bats cave shane right by the sewerage pipe??
 
Joined
7 May 2007
Posts
153
Reaction score
1
Yes, I think thats were it came from phat (I got it with the tank). I've been considering this for a while but my zoos are attached to a really big piece that I don't really want to remove.
Oh well...Time to remove then.
Thanks guys
 

Top