Questions about bubble tip anemone requirments

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I got this anemone today and I've never had one before, I'm also a newbie.
Firstly does this one look healthy?
Secondly, I have a Zetlight ZA1201 on my 40 litre. Should I be putting it on the blue light setting for the anemone or the white light? I dont have any corals in the tank. Just 2 clownfish and the anemone.

Attachments

Reaction score
Tank is to young for nennie tank must be at least 8 months old just keep a eye on it
Oh, I had read that once your tank parameters were stable you could add one. The guy at the fish shop who knows my tank also said it was fine.
I'll watch it closely.
What do you recommend regarding the lighting? Blue or white?

viper357

Admin
Reaction score
It looks healthy, although possibly slightly under-coloured/bleached, but not too much, the colours should deepen as it gets healthier. Your tank is new so it is a bit risky, but these are one of the more forgiving species of anemone so if you look after your tank parameters and give it strong lighting then it stands a good chance at surviving, Your tank is small as well so any swings in parameters will happen quickly which will negatively affect the anemone, so keep your tank's water parameters stable. Important parameters to monitor would be salinity, temperature, nitrate, phosphate and alkalinity.

Do you have any additional pumps in the display tank? Anemones do tend to walk around the tank, especially if they are unhappy and they are prone to walking or drifting into pumps and getting shredded to pieces, so if you have any pumps in the tank it is always a good idea to make them anemone proof by wrapping sponge around them, this will have to cleaned regularly as well. Best of luck with it. :)

Reaction score