Question regarding Orca nitra guard bio cubes

Discussion in 'Orca Labs' started by Lockes, 3 Mar 2013.

  1. Lockes

    Lockes

    Joined:
    5 Jul 2007
    Posts:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    Would be great if you could assist with a question

    1. Can I use the biocubes in a Zeo reactor
    2. Can the biocubes and the gfh be housed together in the reactor?

    As a background I am running a 200 litre system currently using skimming and Vertex Rox carbon as my mechanical and chemical filtration respectively.

    thanks in advance
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. carlosdeandrade

    carlosdeandrade

    Joined:
    24 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    8,230
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    North Riding, Jozi
    They could be run in a reactor, but the bomb method is the ideal way. If you run the gfh and cubes in a reactor, I would run the gfh after the cubes, but again its important for the cubes to be aerated with an air stone, not because they need air, but because they need to be agigated for them to work efficiently.
     
    Last edited: 3 Mar 2013
  4. RocketRooster

    RocketRooster

    Joined:
    11 Dec 2012
    Posts:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Alberton
    The bomb method doesn't allow them to be agitated imo.

    Mine are not agitated in any way, they are just sitting in a basket in the flow from the skimmer compartment. No airstone either. But - my nitrates have dropped from 50ppm to 10ppm in the space of a week. It's magic!
     
  5. Lockes

    Lockes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    5 Jul 2007
    Posts:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    Ok Thanks

    So I do need the orca Phospha-Guard as well. All I have at the moment is an unused zeoreactor but I reckon everything will just flow out without placing the media in a bag?

    Can I just use the phospha-Guard in a bag as well?
     
  6. Trasique

    Trasique tahir

    Joined:
    2 May 2012
    Posts:
    369
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    cape town
    If your zeo reactor has a dosing port you can run an airline through it ala bomb method
     
  7. Zandy

    Zandy

    Joined:
    10 Oct 2012
    Posts:
    2,504
    Likes Received:
    10
    Just a question, can i still use carbon (activated) as well as the biocubes
     
  8. crispin

    crispin

    Joined:
    22 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    12,223
    Likes Received:
    160
    Location:
    Lilliehammer, Norway
    yes zandy you can and indeed id reccomend using carbon with or without cubes. its best to have it in a carbon reactor and to change it every few months.
     
  9. danimal

    danimal

    Joined:
    21 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    1,605
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Durban
    how about a DSB as well the cubes?
     
  10. carlosdeandrade

    carlosdeandrade

    Joined:
    24 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    8,230
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    North Riding, Jozi
    Do you have a DSB running at the moment? If yes, and if it's mature and its working optimally, then why use cubes? Yes, they are easier to maintain, the chance of anything going wrong is far less and they take up much less space, but why fix something if it ain't broken.
    If you want to start both at the same time, then the cubes are the much faster option as they can start to remove NO3 within two weeks and you wont need to run a DSB, there giving up more space for water volume.
     
    Last edited: 1 Jul 2013
  11. danimal

    danimal

    Joined:
    21 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    1,605
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Durban
    thanks, been running a DSB for nearly 4 years. I have always thought it is a fraction too small for my system - it is well mature now, but I think my filtration is generally only just handling my bioload - which is not particularly heavy.

    FWIW - I have the stock standard skimmer to DSB with chaeto and ATS to activated carbon reactor sump configuration. Regular water changes help, but let's be honest they're a hack :p

    So I was wondering if augmenting my filtration with pellets might help alleviate the load. I currently dose the seachem range for pH, ca, alk etc with an autodoser.
     
  12. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    well the bio-cubes will definitely remove any unwanted NO3 and PO4
     
  13. danimal

    danimal

    Joined:
    21 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    1,605
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Durban
    @dallasg I see you've been actively involved in testing this stuff. if you were running it conjunction with a DSB would you then say use half the recommended amount?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  14. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    well you can run it 1ml per liter, but 250ml should be fine to start but dependant on tank size?
     
  15. danimal

    danimal

    Joined:
    21 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    1,605
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Durban
    awesom i'll give it a shot then. system is about 400L
     
  16. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    then run with 500ml, they will be active when needed and always have reserves
     
  17. danimal

    danimal

    Joined:
    21 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    1,605
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Durban
    coolbeans.

    where in durban can you get, and how much?
     
  18. williet

    williet Look at the shiny LEDs!!!

    Joined:
    29 Nov 2010
    Posts:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Amanzimtoti
    Hi Dan

    I use pellets with excellent results, always available at the waterboy.
    Only place that supplies orca is eurospirit not much of a presence down here
     
    Last edited: 1 Jul 2013
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Question regarding Orca Forum Date
question regarding travelling with livestock General Discussions and Advice 24 Oct 2013
Question regarding GFO Chemical Filtration / Low Nutrient Systems - LNS 15 Mar 2011
Few questions regarding cycling tank New Members 26 May 2008
Question regarding the Inch/Gallons Rule? Beginner Discussions 28 Feb 2008
PLEASE answer these questions regarding a nano and a sump Beginner Discussions 26 Feb 2008
Starting a new tank - water question Beginner Discussions 12 Nov 2016
Nano Question Beginner Discussions 26 Aug 2016