Quarintine

Discussion in 'Quarantine Tanks, sick fish, QT corals' started by Jacojs, 17 May 2016.

1. Jacojs

Jacojs

Hi everyone.

Sorry for the long post.

Not sure if this is the right place but I am a beginner so......

I recently added 2clownfish to my tank, the exact number of days escape me now but about 2 or 3 days later the one clown had white spots in and around its mouth and kept his mouth open, the next morning he was stuck against my wavemaker, I thought he was dead but when I tried to net him he swam off, I caught him anyway and put him in a small container with tank water, 10 seconds later he was dead.

The other clown started to eat and he was eating like a piggie :) I was so happy. Him and my Midas blenny were trying to see who could eat the most.

A week short of having him for a month he started acting weird, it looked like he was covered in white powder, no spots just had a white film so to speak covering his body. I decided that I love my blenny too much and bought a qt. When I got home his tailfin started to look bad, like eaten only a little bit.

I set up the qt with 50 litres of tank water, transfered him and dosed with some copper medication, I cant remember the name now. I dosed less than 5ml but more than 2.5ml, (I think a syringe will work better here than the cap)

He died the same night and his tailfin was almost gone by then.

Everyone says clowns are hardy fish??

What could it have been?

My main question now though is since I have a qt with copper meds in the water already, how do I acclimate new fish to be put in the qt? As normal but with qt water or main tank water?

Also if I want to quarintine corals now I need ANOTHER qt right? or do I just rinse the tank properly and use a different heater and filter?

Last edited: 17 May 2016
  2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Newbiejb

Newbiejb