Quarantine/hospital tank equipment

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by Tobes, 16 Nov 2008.

  1. Tobes

    Tobes Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    30 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    9,482
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    A Beautiful place!
    I've decided to set up a quarantine/hospital tank together with my new tank. I've got the following equipment for my saltwater medi-clinic so far:

    3 foot tank + canopy
    stand
    2 x T8 lights + ballasts (strong enough for fish?)
    3000lph return pump
    sump
    2 x Jebo skimmers (should be good enough if necessary at all)
    300W heater
    Plastic ornaments for hiding places

    Are the equipment sufficient enough for this?
    Do I need anything else?
    Do I need to put something in the sump like carbon?
    Do I even need the sump?

    I know I have to leave it bare bottom and with no live rock or DSB. So, is it OK like this?
     
  2. Guest




  3. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    Seems a little overkill, how many fish you want to keep in this QT ?
     
  4. lIghty

    lIghty

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    5,052
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Westville, Durban
    You would need a area for bio filtration, being a 3ft there might not be enough space inside the tank, as well as the skimmers etc, I would build a small sump to hold all this.

    Remember you can't just rely on water changes, as if you are required to medicate, this could cause problems. a small sump would be best IMO.
     
  5. OP
    Tobes

    Tobes Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    30 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    9,482
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    A Beautiful place!
    The thing is I already have all this equipment and it's been lying in my garage for 2 years now :p
    Might as well use it :)
     
  6. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    Makes sense, my Qt is a non-permanent unit, just comes out when needed. No lights, hang-on filter, heater and daily WC
     
  7. OP
    Tobes

    Tobes Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    30 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    9,482
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    A Beautiful place!
    I have a sump for this already - 750L x 310W x 320H.
    how many compartments do you guys suggest and what do I put in it? Except for the skimmers in the first one.
     
  8. lIghty

    lIghty

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    5,052
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Westville, Durban
    Just some Bio filtration, to keep the NH3/NH4 and NO2 down.
     
  9. SIMS

    SIMS

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    3,008
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Empangeni
    I suggest changing the lights to T5's if you going to be putting corals in QT...
     
  10. marine101

    marine101

    Joined:
    14 Aug 2007
    Posts:
    430
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    CTN
    Not sure if anyone remembers those tropiquariums? I use the 88 as a Quarentine. Perfect as it has that awesome biofilter. Mine runs 24/7 though
     
  11. OP
    Tobes

    Tobes Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    30 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    9,482
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    A Beautiful place!
    I would also like to run mine 24/7. After my new tank finnishes the cycle, all new fish will be hospitalised for 4 weeks before going into the DT. This will obviously take long as I will be stocking very very slow ;)
     
  12. Caleb

    Caleb

    Joined:
    15 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    Dusting this one off a bit....

    My idea for a hospital/quarateen tank is merely a 300X300X300 (mabe smaller) tank next to my sump. The return chamber in the sump will feed the H tank by means of a slow siphon. the water will then siphon into a waste bucket from there. Will this be sufficient or is there a better way? Could I use this as a acclimitisation chamber as well?

    What do you think?
     
  13. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    Won't you eventually empty your main tank ? If you have a auto-top up unit, it will start dropping your SG.

    Why not just run the QT seperate ?
     
  14. Neil H

    Neil H Moderator

    Joined:
    11 May 2008
    Posts:
    2,794
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    JHB
    Agree with Warr on this one !
     
  15. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,802
    Likes Received:
    591
    Location:
    Sandton
    i keep a pack of bioballs handy, and keep 5 in my sump, then when i need my QT i use those and throw away when done if medication is used, then add 5 more to the sumo to reseed for next time
     

Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Quarantine hospital tank Forum Date
Quarantine / Hospital tank setup General Discussions and Advice 5 Oct 2014
Hospital and quarantine tanks General Discussions and Advice 31 Jul 2009
[wtd] Small tank + stand - quarantine - Pta Wanted Thursday at 12:21
[wtd] Little Quarantine Tank Wanted 26 Mar 2017
If you dont quarantine youre not a propper aquarist!!!! Quarantine Tanks, Sick fish, QT, Coral help 17 Mar 2017
Setting Up A Quarantine Tank Quarantine Tanks, Sick fish, QT, Coral help 1 Nov 2016
Quarantine Tank & Cycling DT Quarantine Tanks, Sick fish, QT, Coral help 12 Jul 2016