Qaiser's Tank

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by Qaiser, 23 Aug 2009.

  1. Qaiser

    Qaiser

    Joined:
    14 Aug 2009
    Posts:
    345
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    CT - Grassy Park
    i currently have a 910*325*325 display tank with a 75l sump.i purchased my return pump according to riaan 1800l/h, a vibration pump (5000l/h), and hydrometer.i need to no what protein skimmer would be best internal or external.i want to go 4 external as my space is limited.i know u guyz replied already but posting in one thread would make it easier 4 u guzy to help me.thanks again nemo:thumbup:it makes sence.
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. OP
    Qaiser

    Qaiser

    Joined:
    14 Aug 2009
    Posts:
    345
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    CT - Grassy Park
  4. OP
    Qaiser

    Qaiser

    Joined:
    14 Aug 2009
    Posts:
    345
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    CT - Grassy Park
  5. Jaak

    Jaak

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2008
    Posts:
    2,420
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Are you going to put a dsb in this sump?
     
  6. Dale6

    Dale6

    Joined:
    19 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    779
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    East London
    i have almost the axact same sized tank,i run an internal skimmer a ts1
     
  7. scubaninja

    scubaninja

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    6,743
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Durban
    it seems you have it set up with no dsb section, not a problem, but with that tank i'd go with a ts1 which is internal, as there isn't much else you'd need to put into the sump
    Posted via Mobile Device
     
  8. Tony

    Tony

    Joined:
    23 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    4,092
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Honeydew, Johannesburg
    I would personally drop the level of the second piece of glass and place it closer to the first piece. By dropping the second piece you drop the water level in the sump which allows for backflow from your tank in a power failure. It also allows more space for you to add a decent sized DSB;)
     
  9. keyaam

    keyaam

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    2,502
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Which side of ct you staying? drop me a pm and ill assist you with the sump mod
     
  10. OP
    Qaiser

    Qaiser

    Joined:
    14 Aug 2009
    Posts:
    345
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    CT - Grassy Park
    wud the dsb help alot and doesnt 1 need any filter pads in the sump.cant i jst use the big chamber as my dsb with external protein skimmer
     
  11. Tony

    Tony

    Joined:
    23 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    4,092
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Honeydew, Johannesburg
    You can use filter floss every now and then to polish the water but you will need a lot with that gap between your firts and second baffle
     
  12. Loki

    Loki cable tie ninja

    Joined:
    23 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    642
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Lenasia
    same size tank and sump.. have a look..
    [​IMG]
     
  13. OP
    Qaiser

    Qaiser

    Joined:
    14 Aug 2009
    Posts:
    345
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    CT - Grassy Park
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Qaiser's Tank Forum Date
Qaiser's 1,2m tank Medium Tanks 29 Oct 2015
Planning to build bigger tank Anything DIY Related Friday at 08:29
[wtd] Pico Tank wanted Wanted Tuesday at 10:33
Tank Placement in house Beginner Discussions 23 Apr 2017
My 1st Marine tank New Members 17 Apr 2017
[wtd] Tank to swap for premium fishing rods Wanted 16 Apr 2017
Coral Reef Tanks in Germany Local Reefing Clubs 16 Apr 2017