Qaiser's Tank

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by Qaiser, 23 Aug 2009.

  1. Qaiser

    Qaiser

    Joined:
    14 Aug 2009
    Posts:
    345
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    CT - Grassy Park
    i currently have a 910*325*325 display tank with a 75l sump.i purchased my return pump according to riaan 1800l/h, a vibration pump (5000l/h), and hydrometer.i need to no what protein skimmer would be best internal or external.i want to go 4 external as my space is limited.i know u guyz replied already but posting in one thread would make it easier 4 u guzy to help me.thanks again nemo:thumbup:it makes sence.
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Qaiser

    Qaiser Thread Starter

    Joined:
    14 Aug 2009
    Posts:
    345
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    CT - Grassy Park
  4. Qaiser

    Qaiser Thread Starter

    Joined:
    14 Aug 2009
    Posts:
    345
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    CT - Grassy Park
  5. Jaak

    Jaak

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2008
    Posts:
    2,421
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Are you going to put a dsb in this sump?
     
  6. Dale6

    Dale6

    Joined:
    19 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    779
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    East London
    i have almost the axact same sized tank,i run an internal skimmer a ts1
     
  7. scubaninja

    scubaninja

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    6,739
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Durban
    it seems you have it set up with no dsb section, not a problem, but with that tank i'd go with a ts1 which is internal, as there isn't much else you'd need to put into the sump
    Posted via Mobile Device
     
  8. Tony

    Tony

    Joined:
    23 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    4,093
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Honeydew, Johannesburg
    I would personally drop the level of the second piece of glass and place it closer to the first piece. By dropping the second piece you drop the water level in the sump which allows for backflow from your tank in a power failure. It also allows more space for you to add a decent sized DSB;)
     
  9. keyaam

    keyaam

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    2,502
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Which side of ct you staying? drop me a pm and ill assist you with the sump mod
     
  10. Qaiser

    Qaiser Thread Starter

    Joined:
    14 Aug 2009
    Posts:
    345
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    CT - Grassy Park
    wud the dsb help alot and doesnt 1 need any filter pads in the sump.cant i jst use the big chamber as my dsb with external protein skimmer
     
  11. Tony

    Tony

    Joined:
    23 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    4,093
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Honeydew, Johannesburg
    You can use filter floss every now and then to polish the water but you will need a lot with that gap between your firts and second baffle
     
  12. Loki

    Loki cable tie ninja

    Joined:
    23 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    642
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Lenasia
    same size tank and sump.. have a look..
    [​IMG]
     
  13. Qaiser

    Qaiser Thread Starter

    Joined:
    14 Aug 2009
    Posts:
    345
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    CT - Grassy Park
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Qaiser's Tank Forum Date
Qaiser's 1,2m tank Medium Tanks 29 Oct 2015
Macro algae in display tank - Yes or No? General Discussions and Advice Yesterday at 12:40
My 300lt Tank Medium Tanks Friday at 22:45
Any tanks for sale in Port Elizabeth Area. Wanted 24 Nov 2016
Recommended HW for 100L tank? General Discussions and Advice 20 Nov 2016
Tank Builder Anything DIY Related 17 Nov 2016
Brads Peninsula tank Large Tanks 17 Nov 2016