Putting up a Nano

Discussion in 'Nano Tank advice' started by Meneer, 20 Apr 2011.

  1. Meneer

    Meneer

    Joined:
    9 Mar 2011
    Posts:
    602
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Brackenfell - Cape Town
    I was think of putting a small sump in the cabinet in this to house a small skimmer, return pump and heater, and some bio material. Obviously I will have it drilled and a return fitted. Sump will also have a small cascade filter with Purigen as main biological filtration.

    Will it be enough?

    In the tank, circulation will be provided by a 600l/h Hydea old style powerhead with sponge filter underneath.

    This tank should be around 70 liters with sump. Tank alone is 56 Litres, and sump should be around 10-15.

    Any other suggestions or "What I would do's"?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Meneer

    Meneer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    9 Mar 2011
    Posts:
    602
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Brackenfell - Cape Town
    :bump:
     
  4. Donovan

    Donovan

    Joined:
    19 Mar 2010
    Posts:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Hills, JHB
    I thought this was going to be a QT setup
     
  5. Meneer

    Meneer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    9 Mar 2011
    Posts:
    602
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Brackenfell - Cape Town
    Yes, but it looks like there should be NOTHING in a QT. It would be a waste to put absolutely nothing in this tank, so I would rather set it up as display tank.
     
  6. Evo R

    Evo R

    Joined:
    8 Dec 2009
    Posts:
    1,730
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Mosselbay
    Whats the dimensions of this tank? And what Lighting does it have?
     
  7. Meneer

    Meneer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    9 Mar 2011
    Posts:
    602
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Brackenfell - Cape Town
    The dimensions are 56 Wide, 36 Deep, and 26 Wide

    It comes with built-in lights, which I will probably have to replace.

    [​IMG]
     
  8. mandarinman

    mandarinman

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2007
    Posts:
    6,377
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    capetown,durbanville
    looks cool, i would rather just do more water changes than go to all the trouble of drilling etc. the water changes will clean out any excess nutrients .
     
  9. Meneer

    Meneer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    9 Mar 2011
    Posts:
    602
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Brackenfell - Cape Town
    I assume that running a bag of Purigen in the built-in Filter case (As can be seen in the Picture of the lights) should be more than enough as bacterial medium?
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Putting Nano Forum Date
The cruelty of putting the blade to corals General Discussions and Advice 31 Mar 2014
Yellow Star Polyps are putting out fuzz Soft Corals 15 Feb 2012
Thinking of putting my sump OUTSIDE Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers 5 Sep 2011
Putting sand in Beginner Discussions 27 May 2009
Caribsea seaflor special grade aragonite - wash before putting in the tank?? Beginner Discussions 22 May 2008
Putting new tank together Beginner Discussions 11 Jan 2008
New Acrylic Nano Nano Tanks 28 Oct 2016