Purchasing from Marinedepot?

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by erratiC, 31 Jul 2012.

  1. erratiC

    erratiC

    Joined:
    8 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    804
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Durban
    Hi all,

    I sent them a mail querying why there's no option for South Africa on their registration page and they replied saying that "unfortunately due to customs regulations in your country we are unable to ship to South Africa. I apologize for the inconvenience."

    Has anybody been able to purchase from them before or know of anybody that has?

    I'm looking into getting an Iwaki MD100 or similar and I only know of Marinedepot.com - any other suggestions?

    Cheers.
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. rakabos

    rakabos

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2010
    Posts:
    5,006
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    Wilgeheuwel, JHB
  4. Damen

    Damen

    Joined:
    18 Jul 2012
    Posts:
    326
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    JNB
    i tried there as well and had no luck
     
  5. mariusmeyer

    mariusmeyer

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    3,054
    Likes Received:
    210
    Location:
    Jukskei Park, JHB
    Why a Iwaki pump? THey are quite hectic on electricity consumption. You should be able to get a more efficient pump locally.
     
  6. NickW

    NickW

    Joined:
    30 Jan 2012
    Posts:
    565
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Greenstone Hill
    Can you not ask them to send the order to a freight forwarder who will then send it to SA? just a thought.
     
  7. erratiC

    erratiC Thread Starter

    Joined:
    8 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    804
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Durban
    Ye, tried Ebay but a search comes up with 7 results incl. yours - the only place selling brand new doesn't ship to SA.

    @mariusmeyer, can you offer any pumps as a suggestion? It's going to be my return pump but has to pump up to at least 5m into a 2400litre DT.

    Was looking at the Pan World 250PS as well as a couple others but having not seen or heard them physically I'm at a bit of a disadvantage here.

    Hmmm, now there's a plan - I wonder who's closest to SA that they'll send it to. Shot.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  8. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,160
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Centurion
    Why go through all that for a pump with no backup. After all without any postage and tax the pump is R3863 for only 7500L/h. And being a Japanese motor, most likely on 110V

    You will save a lot more in the long run by using a Water Blaster HW5000 that runs at 65W.
    I'm not sure, but seems the Iwaki pumps pulls 380Watts!!!!

    Iwaki MD 100RLT - 2000gph - Japan

    Rather go to your LFS and get product support.

    I had 2 Reeflow pumps and both had issues. I replaced them cost free with 2 Vortech pumps. LFS swapped it.
     
  9. mariusmeyer

    mariusmeyer

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    3,054
    Likes Received:
    210
    Location:
    Jukskei Park, JHB
    Have a look at the Sicce Multi M16000e. Is 15700LPH with 8.5m head. So maybe you will get around 5000LPH at 5m.

    But I see your issue, head height is going to be your killer.
     
  10. Singularity

    Singularity Hmmm amper!

    Joined:
    3 Apr 2008
    Posts:
    2,496
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Potch/Centurion/Brooklyn
    this
    Tunze Master electronic 1073.090
    (1073.090)
    [​IMG]

    Pumping capacity: 9,000 l/h (2,377 US gal./h)
    Energy consumption: 130 W
    Pumping head: 5.60 m (220.4 in.)
    Voltage / frequency: 230V/50Hz (115V/60Hz)

    The head might be an issue though.
     
  11. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,160
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Centurion
  12. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,160
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Centurion
    Else
    you need a 2 stage sump layout. With holding tank halfway up. But holding tank with overflow and stronger pump bellow. But then need some float switches to protect the pump in holding tank.
     
  13. George

    George Sponsor

    Joined:
    10 Jul 2007
    Posts:
    522
    Likes Received:
    7
    This pump was discontinued and was replaced with the new Silence Pro



    [​IMG]
     
  14. erratiC

    erratiC Thread Starter

    Joined:
    8 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    804
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Durban
    Thanks dude.

    Was looking at this pump as well - didn't know it was available locally. Was just looking abroad as well so that I can compare quotes.

    I do have the option of setting up a midway tank but was thinking about using this as an automatic water change tank - if I can't find a decent enough pump then I'll have to think about using this as a "holding tank" as you said. Would have to move the auto water change tank to next to the sump instead.

    Thankfully, i do have options. Thanks everyone.
     
  15. George

    George Sponsor

    Joined:
    10 Jul 2007
    Posts:
    522
    Likes Received:
    7
    There is such a thing as a " Water Level Alarm " very accurate and fully automatic. but then you would know better what you require. I'm not really sure if I can do this so mods tel if I'm wrong and tel me straight away
     
  16. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,160
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Centurion
    half way up holding tank will not work with water alarm.

    Best is to have it drilled with an overflow back to the lower sump.
    With a stronger pump in the lowest sump, pumping to middle holding tank. Another smaller pump from their up to main display.

    Idea is that the middle sump must overflow back to sump - always. If holding tank pump stops, then overflow must be able to handle all the overflow back to lower sump.

    The problem comes in when lower sump pump is stopped. And the middle tank keeps on running. Maybe there an alarm or float switch to switch off that pump (better option). Advantage is that if you do switch the lower pump on again, then the middle one will just overflow - as designed - until you switch that pump on again.
     
  17. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,160
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Centurion
    I see that comment as advise.
     
    Last edited: 31 Jul 2012
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Purchasing Marinedepot Forum Date
Purchasing a new SKIMMER Protein Skimmers, Mechanical Filtration 15 Sep 2008