Purcahsed a used system and some ids needed please

Discussion in 'ID Needed' started by yusufp, 16 Jul 2016.

  1. yusufp

    yusufp

    Joined:
    31 May 2016
    Posts:
    446
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    Hi guys please sems my rsm thread.

    Can you please help me to odentify the fish and inverts in my tank.

    Thanks alot. Willnposy more pics as i go along. [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. yusufp

    yusufp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    31 May 2016
    Posts:
    446
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    I have so far id the following
    Fish:
    Yellow wrasse
    Fire goby
    Blue damsel
    Africam clown
    Normal clown
    Mandarin


    Coral:
    Pincushion
    Hammer coral
    Gsp
    Finger leather


    Inverts:
    Brittle star
    Banded brittle star fancy
    Cowry
    Assorted hermits with yellow on the legs and blue eyes. The largest has a massive claw
    Pink bristle worms
    Cleaner shrimp
    Boxer shrimp
    A few snails

    Can anyone help me id the anemone and few fish and some corals. I also found a similar shaped shell to cowry that is blue. Not sure what creature it was
     
    Last edited: 16 Jul 2016
  4. yusufp

    yusufp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    31 May 2016
    Posts:
    446
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    More pics

    Im not sure what the pink transparent thing is in the centre of the last pic. Looks like a small flower


    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
     
  5. r0ckf1re

    r0ckf1re

    Joined:
    23 Feb 2015
    Posts:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    338
    Location:
    Sandton
    You have blue green chromis
    Also cyano
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 20 Jul 2016
  6. yusufp

    yusufp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    31 May 2016
    Posts:
    446
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    I have been reading up on the cyano.

    Going to try a blackout for 2 to 3 days to see if it helps, otherwise kight use chemic clean initially.

    Can old test kits give incorrect readings?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 20 Jul 2016
  7. PeterAmos

    PeterAmos

    Joined:
    10 Feb 2014
    Posts:
    236
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Pietermaritzburg
    nothin wrong with the cyano :confused1:
    Some people love it.
    Some dont.
     
    Last edited: 16 Jul 2016
  8. PeterAmos

    PeterAmos

    Joined:
    10 Feb 2014
    Posts:
    236
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Pietermaritzburg
    The hair alge is a problem though, if thats what it is in the bottom left of the main pic.
     
  9. yusufp

    yusufp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    31 May 2016
    Posts:
    446
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    Apparently it can smother corals.

    Yes alot of hair algae which also needs to be tackled busy doing a round of trsts tonight. Will do a WC within the next 2 days.
     
  10. r0ckf1re

    r0ckf1re

    Joined:
    23 Feb 2015
    Posts:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    338
    Location:
    Sandton
    I had some Cyrano, I cut down on feeding, reduced my lights for a few days and manually pulled them out. Did a water change and all gone.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 20 Jul 2016
  11. RossK

    RossK

    Joined:
    11 Jul 2015
    Posts:
    187
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    Vaalpark
    We removed nutrients and all the Cyano/ GHA issues went away. Used ORCA biocubes, a bit expensive but well worth it judging by the results...
     
    Last edited: 17 Jul 2016
    r0ckf1re likes this.
  12. jacohall

    jacohall

    Joined:
    13 Jan 2016
    Posts:
    146
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Jeffreys Bay
    Peter Amos, I think you are confusing cyano with coralline algae. Cyano is a sign that there are some nutrient issues in your system. Don't know of anyone that likes cyano.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 20 Jul 2016
    TaahirS likes this.
  13. yusufp

    yusufp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    31 May 2016
    Posts:
    446
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    Thanks. Il try the biocubes.

    Are these biocubes in the reactor?

    [​IMG][​IMG]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 20 Jul 2016
  14. PeterAmos

    PeterAmos

    Joined:
    10 Feb 2014
    Posts:
    236
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Pietermaritzburg
    Hey Jacohall darn right i am. Thanks.Its my dislexia. :banghead:
     
  15. RossK

    RossK

    Joined:
    11 Jul 2015
    Posts:
    187
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    Vaalpark
    Not sure, Biocubes are white. When they are spent, they look like what you have. Also, they need a good source of oxygen, so normally running them in the "bomb" method works well.
     
  16. yusufp

    yusufp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    31 May 2016
    Posts:
    446
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    How dan you run a bomb in the reactor?

    Im looking to change it soon
     
  17. TaahirS

    TaahirS MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    10 Jul 2014
    Posts:
    2,585
    Likes Received:
    284
    Location:
    Cape Town (southern suburbs)
    It's full name is Orca bio cubes. I think they should be on the Jungle Aquatics website.

    Basically it comes with a filter bag that you put them in. Then you add an air stone underneath the bag for good oxygenation.
     
  18. yusufp

    yusufp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    31 May 2016
    Posts:
    446
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    Yes but how to you get a airstone into the reactor? Unless i use them in the sump and use something else in the reactor?
     
  19. RossK

    RossK

    Joined:
    11 Jul 2015
    Posts:
    187
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    Vaalpark
    The cubes are supplied with a bag, you run it in its bag with an airstone to aerate the water flowing past the cubes. On my daughter's old setup, she ran the airstone inside the same bag and it worked very well. Just run the bag next to your skimmer, and the cubes generates a lot of mulm.
    Also, the normal biocubes will only remove nitrates if you have some phosphates ( redfield ratio dependent). you need the Titanium biocubes if you don't have phosphates
     
    Last edited: 17 Jul 2016
  20. TaahirS

    TaahirS MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    10 Jul 2014
    Posts:
    2,585
    Likes Received:
    284
    Location:
    Cape Town (southern suburbs)
  21. yusufp

    yusufp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    31 May 2016
    Posts:
    446
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    I have a redsea max 250 with sump behind the tank. There is a place for media but instead theres a pump there running to the reactor. Inside the reactor is the current biocubes.

    I could try and fit the biocubes next to the pump and run something else in the reactor. But what else?

    The previous owner ran the biocubes in the reactor.

    Nitrates are currently zero as per red sea test. Do not have a phosphate test though. Ammonia is zero.

    Nitrite zero as per sailfert test and 0.1 as per red sea test.

    Dkh 10.6

    Ph 8.6

    Calcium 370
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Purcahsed used system Forum Date
[wtd] Broken or unused led unit Wanted 21 Nov 2016
RO unit waste water used for freshwater aquarium? General Discussions and Advice 7 Oct 2016
Used set up Beginner Discussions 2 Jun 2016
[wtd] Used pump Wanted 29 Mar 2016
Glass vrs acrylic when used as a light support? General Discussions and Advice 30 Jan 2016
[wtd] large return pump 6000lt plus new or used Wanted 4 Jan 2016
[wtd] Used Skimmer Wanted 9 Nov 2015