protein skimmer

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by Richard, 24 Jun 2009.

  1. Richard

    Richard

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Hi there.
    Just started, ( 2 weeks into first cycle)
    I have a 300l main tank and a 100l sump
    I currently have a DT 2516 Boyu protein skimmer that operates at 820L per hour.
    Is this going to be big enough for my system?
     
  2. Guest




  3. OP
    Richard

    Richard

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town
    sorry
    only going to be a fish and live rock system with maybe a coral or two (much later)
     
  4. marine101

    marine101

    Joined:
    14 Aug 2007
    Posts:
    430
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    CTN
    Sorry not familiar with that skimmer? Do u have a pic?
    Posted via Mobile Device
     
  5. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Hi Richard - unfortunately I too don't know the skimmer. Fish can handle slightly higher nutrient levels (they can get USED TO) than corals can.

    If you also invest in quite a bit of live rock, have a Deep Sand Bed, and run an algae scrubber
    (ie macro algae in your sump, over the DSB, with strong lighting over the macro algae - to make the macro algae grow) - then I would say YES, for now, you should be able to get away with this skimmer.

    That is FOR NOW...... And yes - there are SOME corals that also grow slightly better with a wee bit higher nutrient levels.... but, soon, you will most likely find that you would NEED to upgrade your skimmer.....

    Good luck - and enjoy!
     
  6. OP
    Richard

    Richard

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town
    thanks
    Can use it for a quarintine tank at a later stage.
     
  7. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Cape Town
  8. FransSny

    FransSny

    Joined:
    16 Oct 2008
    Posts:
    5,697
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Hermanus
    or you can run 2 skimmers......one wet & one dry, best of both worlds
     
  9. OP
    Richard

    Richard

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town
    I have DSB in the sump.
    Do I just place a small light above this or do I need to provide a place for it to grow?
    ie foam
     
  10. OP
    Richard

    Richard

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town
    the algae that is
     
  11. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Cape Town
    No Richard - you can just place the macro algae over the DSB..... that, and a strong enough light over the macro algae.... that's all you have to do....
     
  12. ziyaadb

    ziyaadb

    Joined:
    18 Jul 2007
    Posts:
    5,578
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    JHB-Lenzz
    I have a DNW200 rated for 1000L in my 360L tank LOL. Overskim baby.
     

Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - protein skimmer Forum Date
[wtd] Protein skimmer rated for 1000l Wanted 22 Jun 2017
[wtd] Protein Skimmer Wanted 1 May 2017
[wtd] Protein Skimmer Wanted Wanted 22 Apr 2017
[wtd] HOB Protein Skimmer - for nano tank. Wanted 3 Apr 2017
Protein Skimmer Maintenance Equipment Articles 1 Apr 2017
What's the best protein skimmer to get? General Discussions and Advice 17 Mar 2017
[wtd] Protein skimmer wanted for 300 litre tank . pls inbox me Wanted 16 Mar 2017