protein skimmer

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by Richard, 24 Jun 2009.

  1. Richard

    Richard

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Hi there.
    Just started, ( 2 weeks into first cycle)
    I have a 300l main tank and a 100l sump
    I currently have a DT 2516 Boyu protein skimmer that operates at 820L per hour.
    Is this going to be big enough for my system?
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Richard

    Richard Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town
    sorry
    only going to be a fish and live rock system with maybe a coral or two (much later)
     
  4. marine101

    marine101

    Joined:
    14 Aug 2007
    Posts:
    429
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    CTN
    Sorry not familiar with that skimmer? Do u have a pic?
    Posted via Mobile Device
     
  5. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Hi Richard - unfortunately I too don't know the skimmer. Fish can handle slightly higher nutrient levels (they can get USED TO) than corals can.

    If you also invest in quite a bit of live rock, have a Deep Sand Bed, and run an algae scrubber
    (ie macro algae in your sump, over the DSB, with strong lighting over the macro algae - to make the macro algae grow) - then I would say YES, for now, you should be able to get away with this skimmer.

    That is FOR NOW...... And yes - there are SOME corals that also grow slightly better with a wee bit higher nutrient levels.... but, soon, you will most likely find that you would NEED to upgrade your skimmer.....

    Good luck - and enjoy!
     
  6. Richard

    Richard Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town
    thanks
    Can use it for a quarintine tank at a later stage.
     
  7. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
  8. FransSny

    FransSny

    Joined:
    16 Oct 2008
    Posts:
    5,697
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Hermanus
    or you can run 2 skimmers......one wet & one dry, best of both worlds
     
  9. Richard

    Richard Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town
    I have DSB in the sump.
    Do I just place a small light above this or do I need to provide a place for it to grow?
    ie foam
     
  10. Richard

    Richard Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town
    the algae that is
     
  11. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    No Richard - you can just place the macro algae over the DSB..... that, and a strong enough light over the macro algae.... that's all you have to do....
     
  12. ziyaadb

    ziyaadb

    Joined:
    18 Jul 2007
    Posts:
    5,566
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    JHB-Lenzz
    I have a DNW200 rated for 1000L in my 360L tank LOL. Overskim baby.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - protein skimmer Forum Date
[wtd] The Skimz E-Series SM202 Protein Skimmer Wanted 19 Oct 2016
protein skimmer wanted General Discussions and Advice 11 Aug 2016
[wtd] Looking for a Protein Skimmer Wanted 3 Aug 2016
[wtd] protein skimmer wanted 500L tank Wanted 21 Jul 2016
Performance of the Bubble Magus Curved D8 DC Protein Skimmer JungleAquatics.NET BLOG 30 Jun 2016
Unboxing Bubble Magus Curve D8 and D9 Protein Skimmers JungleAquatics.NET BLOG 30 Jun 2016
[wtd] hob protein skimmer DBN Wanted 28 Jun 2016