Profilux

Discussion in 'Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers' started by NO3, 30 Jan 2015.

  1. NO3

    NO3

    Joined:
    26 Jul 2013
    Posts:
    592
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Durban,Hillcrest
    Any one using the profilux full system to monitor Ph temp and redox some input and advice would be great!
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  4. mytank

    mytank

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2011
    Posts:
    2,503
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    Gauteng

    Yes - I use it extensively
     
    NO3 and (deleted member) like this.
  5. carlosdeandrade

    carlosdeandrade

    Joined:
    24 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    8,230
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    North Riding, Jozi
  6. carlosdeandrade

    carlosdeandrade

    Joined:
    24 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    8,230
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    North Riding, Jozi
  7. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,987
    Likes Received:
    780
    :m22: Share the love, we'd all like to know. :)
     
  8. mytank

    mytank

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2011
    Posts:
    2,503
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    Gauteng
    Its kind of saying I bought a car what do I do with it... What car what options does it have. Etc, I have had my profilux doing a water change every hour, mixing salt for me, controlling my lights, my vortex pumps, I have developed a driver into my home automation system for it and now with the new build I am adding an additional extension box for it in the sump room connected via Rj45, so the question remains what is your use case and then we can advise :) remember what I said over whatsapp, this is the Royals Royce, you can buy the Tatas and Cherrys of the world if you want as well.
     
  9. carlosdeandrade

    carlosdeandrade

    Joined:
    24 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    8,230
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    North Riding, Jozi
    OK, I will post what we did for our clients this week in Idol's Marine's letter.
     
  10. carlosdeandrade

    carlosdeandrade

    Joined:
    24 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    8,230
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    North Riding, Jozi
  11. DeanT

    DeanT Dean

    Joined:
    16 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    1,850
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Claremont, Cape Town
    @mytank caN you share how you did the water change
    I have been trying to get this done.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  12. carlosdeandrade

    carlosdeandrade

    Joined:
    24 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    8,230
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    North Riding, Jozi
  13. carlosdeandrade

    carlosdeandrade

    Joined:
    24 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    8,230
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    North Riding, Jozi
    More specifically:

    Get the GHL software, easiest way to program your Profilux, using either a RS232 (which can be bought at any PC shop, plugs into the back of your Profilux)cable or a LAN.
     
  14. mytank

    mytank

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2011
    Posts:
    2,503
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    Gauteng


    What components do you have? Do you have a spate pump, powerbar? Sump, container etc with fresh mixed water? If you have then its piss easy. Measure the amount you want to drop out, you can either use time (10seconds = 20l) or use an additional level.switch, so you turn the pump on say power bar socket 1 for 10 seconds or you turn pump on till level switch kicks in and turns pump.off.



    It really is easy :)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
    carlosdeandrade likes this.
  15. carlosdeandrade

    carlosdeandrade

    Joined:
    24 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    8,230
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    North Riding, Jozi
  16. carlosdeandrade

    carlosdeandrade

    Joined:
    24 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    8,230
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    North Riding, Jozi
    The thing with Profilux is that you can SO much with it, you just need to get to know what you can do with it.
     
  17. DeanT

    DeanT Dean

    Joined:
    16 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    1,850
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Claremont, Cape Town
    @mytank
    Plan was to run water change using 1 optical level mounted in my display tank at current water level and a pump connected in my mixing container.
    What I wanted to do was drain tank, and after about 30 minutes start the fill up, and when water level is reached again optical would turn off pump.

    I think also the fear of bricking my system with a firmware upgrade has left me a few versions behind and obviously missing out on some new functions
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  18. mytank

    mytank

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2011
    Posts:
    2,503
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    Gauteng
    Naaa firmware upgrades are piss and there is a fail back via RS232 if you need. Always keep it up to date they do very nice updates.



    I am @nal about fail back so I use three level switches and have logic that checks all three and then makes a decision on what all the three are saying. Well at least that's how I use to have it, I will do it again when I finish my new build. You can do anything very simplistically its just a on off system with relays that have inputs in the form of temp, level, salinity,ph etc I use two salinity probes one in the tank and one in the same in the new system ill use three, sump, tank, mixing tank same goes for ph. People always forget water changes you want as close to your tanks parameters as possible.



    Then we can start the discussion about doing automated water changes are actually useless. The actual point of a water change is to first get rid of sh1t lying around in your tank, then secondary really (and something you can actually take care of with dosing) adding back trace elements.



    I always warn anyone thinking of water changes to know that it really 1. Doesn't take away the need to look after the tank 2. Know what can go wrong cause from experience it will. 3. I would rather use the level port for more flow meters as that is something that can really help for things like, skimmer flow rate, flow before and after you UVs, flow to high or to low and allowing you to do something about it I.e. If you get slow over flow, flow - fast return pump - something is wrong adjust the return flow (dc pump) and notify me via email SMS etc ..
     
  19. Nemos Janitor

    Nemos Janitor

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    8,384
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Joe's Mountain
    What flow sensors do you use ?
     
  20. Nemos Janitor

    Nemos Janitor

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    8,384
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Joe's Mountain
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  21. mytank

    mytank

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2011
    Posts:
    2,503
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    Gauteng


    Profilux. You get others but they don't integrate. There new nice ones with a LCD screen that have all the toys etc and temp but they only do one flow to one screen and no integration to profilix. I am very careful when I buy to make sure they integrate. profilux is plug and play unlike the others its plug and pray.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Profilux Forum Date
[wtd] Profilux optical sensor Wanted 22 Oct 2016
ph profilux General Discussions and Advice 21 Oct 2016
[wtd] Reef Angel or Profilux Wanted 4 Aug 2016
[wtd] Profilux 3.1 or Reef Angel Wanted 5 Apr 2016
[wtd] Profilux dosing unit wanted Wanted 18 Mar 2016
Profilux Skills Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers 24 Feb 2016
[wtd] Help with Profilux Wanted 28 Jan 2016