Powerhead not working

Discussion in 'Pumps and Waterflow' started by gaboon, 23 Dec 2007.

  1. gaboon

    gaboon

    Joined:
    14 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    2,241
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Northriding
    My Seio 620 powerhead isn't working. Any ideas? Plug wiring is fine. It is 2nd hand.
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Mike

    Mike Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    12 May 2007
    Posts:
    7,859
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    the Motherland
    can you spin the wheel easily? if not it's probably jammed up with crud, try soaking it in a vinegar solution to free it up, if not then it may be the motor has burned out
     
  4. Kanga

    Kanga Retired Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    4,576
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    In the Koeberg blast radius
    Open it and make sure the impellor is clean and moves freely. Check that the ceramic shaft is not broken.

    If mine doesnt start I give it a "loving tap":p
     
    Last edited: 23 Dec 2007
  5. Shaun

    Shaun Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 Aug 2007
    Posts:
    5,274
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    KZN
    When you say not working, does it not even try move the "impellor"
     
  6. lIghty

    lIghty

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Westville, Durban
    I would strip it down and check if the impellor is free, maybe some shit has dried and got stuck?
     
  7. gaboon

    gaboon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    14 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    2,241
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Northriding
    Stripped, cleaned, changed the plug, nothing happens:(
     
  8. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,983
    Likes Received:
    777
    Does the impellor spin freely on the shaft when it is out of the pump?

    Mine tend to stick occasionally and I just take off the round screw-on attachment and it kicks in again, watch your fingers though.
     
  9. Kanga

    Kanga Retired Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    4,576
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    In the Koeberg blast radius
    yip that works, didnt know if I should share such a dodgy technique:lol:
     
  10. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,983
    Likes Received:
    777
    :lol: Yip, I've almost lost a fingernail or two :whistling:
     
  11. lIghty

    lIghty

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Westville, Durban
    If you have an electrical multi-meter check if it's open circuit.
     
  12. gaboon

    gaboon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    14 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    2,241
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Northriding
    It does spin freely, after re-assembly I cant unscrew it now. dammit!!!! Off to the LFS tomorrow:nono:
     
  13. Ocean

    Ocean Lazy Sea Slug

    Joined:
    14 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    CT
    sorry to hear your ahving problems and if your going to buy a new one why dont you upgrade its so little price diffence
     
  14. gaboon

    gaboon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    14 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    2,241
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Northriding
    Upgrade to 820?
     
  15. Kanga

    Kanga Retired Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    4,576
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    In the Koeberg blast radius
    Gaboon, stupid question but its happened to me before, is the 2 prong plug working?
     
  16. gaboon

    gaboon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    14 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    2,241
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Northriding
    It was a 3 prong already, shortened the wiring and put on new plug but still nothing. What could explain powerhead, skimmer pump and return pump not working? Lightning, power surge? Eskom?
     
  17. DragonReef

    DragonReef

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,601
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Durban, ZA
    Are you using a Muti plug ?
     
  18. sunburst

    sunburst

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Durban
    Bad luck maybe....

    Sorry could not resist. Your Tank...I would upgrade to the 1100...remember flow is more important than lighting. And Eco aquatics are super cheap, will also replace skimmer pump...
     
  19. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    mmhh judging by everyones questions,and your replys,sounds like you gotta chuck it
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Powerhead working Forum Date
[wtd] 1500/3000l/h wavemaker or powerhead Wanted 23 Sep 2016
Skimmer and powerheads Beginner Discussions 31 Mar 2016
[wtd] Old powerhead lying around Wanted 7 Nov 2015
Powerhead placement General Discussions and Advice 3 Feb 2015
[wtd] powerhead Wanted 20 Jan 2015
Powerhead positioning General Discussions and Advice 7 Dec 2014
Nano Powerheads Nano Tank advice 5 Oct 2014