Possible upgrade, what about the skimmer?

Discussion in 'Protein Skimmers, Mechanical Filtration' started by greenie, 8 Nov 2015.

  1. greenie

    greenie

    Joined:
    5 Apr 2010
    Posts:
    148
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    kemptonpark
    Hi all,

    Currently I got a 150 liter tank supported by a Reeftek TS1 skimmer. I am considering upgrade to a 390 liter tank (square). The question coming up now is, will it really be necessary for me to upgrade my skimmer as well (e.g. to a Reeftek TS2)?

    I do not plan to increase my life stock / coral , so feeding will stay the same.

    Any advice?
     
  2. Guest




  3. leslie hempel

    leslie hempel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    16,279
    Likes Received:
    796
    Location:
    Gonubie East London
    I would upgrade the skimmer. Our intent for a system hardly stays the same when we see the extra space we have available to squeeze that one extra fish in :)
     
    Willie85 likes this.
  4. OP
    greenie

    greenie

    Joined:
    5 Apr 2010
    Posts:
    148
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    kemptonpark
    Thanks for your response. I see what you mean.
     
  5. Dexter

    Dexter

    Joined:
    24 Feb 2014
    Posts:
    1,790
    Likes Received:
    278
    Location:
    Randburg
    In my opinion any skimmer is better than no skimmer.
     
  6. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    25,493
    Likes Received:
    1,981
    Location:
    Centurion
    Just ensure that the sump first chamber would be big enough to accept a larger skimmer down the line. Not needed to immediately upgrade the skimmer. Keep an eye on the for sale section and one day you might be get a TS2 or similar.
     
  7. OP
    greenie

    greenie

    Joined:
    5 Apr 2010
    Posts:
    148
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    kemptonpark
    Riaan,thanks for the advice. May I ask a follow-up question - let say I buy pool sand for the new tank, can I feed it with 2 or 3 cups from my existing system?
     
  8. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    25,493
    Likes Received:
    1,981
    Location:
    Centurion
    Rather playsand. Pool sand got rather sharp edges.
    But you need to wash that sand like a 1000 times.

    yes you can, will help to start a population going.
     
  9. Juan27

    Juan27

    Joined:
    18 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    669
    Likes Received:
    144
    Location:
    Somerset West
    Proper Aragonite has become cheap with different brands entering the market. Rather get that than any pool or play sand
     
  10. OP
    greenie

    greenie

    Joined:
    5 Apr 2010
    Posts:
    148
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    kemptonpark
    Thanks for the feedback, I will get some prices. (Just thought that play sand is so fine it may cause a sandstorm!).
     
  11. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    25,493
    Likes Received:
    1,981
    Location:
    Centurion

    I did use playsand in my display for a few years. Depending on how you point your powerheads. Fine aragonite will blow around more than playsand. Blowing around is not really an issue.
     

Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Possible upgrade skimmer Forum Date
New possible members .. Yes / NOo ID Needed 20 Feb 2018
RSS ‘Controversial’ Giant Clam Hybrid Proven Possible by Aquaculture Researchers RSS Feeds 31 Jan 2018
RSS This Has To Be The Smallest Possible Frogfish RSS Feeds 24 Oct 2017
RSS A Possible Cave Basslet X Swissguard Basslet Hybrid RSS Feeds 8 Mar 2017
Bryopsis possible solution General Discussions and Advice 10 Jan 2017
RSS Is It Possible to Overdo Marine Aquarium Water Changes? RSS Feeds 14 Sep 2016
RSS Captive Bred Potter’s Angelfish Proven Possible by Rising Tide RSS Feeds 22 Aug 2016

Share This Page