Possible back up power solution?

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I have gotten to the stage where I am ready to add livestock to my tank however, I would like to ensure that I have some back up power for approximately 4 hours before I add any livestock. Thankfully the area where I stay is not hit by load shedding too often (touch wood) but I do still need some sort of back up.

First and foremost, electrical/technical knowledge is not my field at all so please excuse my ignorance.

The tank is 1200mm x 600mm x 500mm. I am wanting to be able to run my return pump and my two flow pumps. This works out to approximately 120W to run all three.

I have been quoted on the following unit:
"A SSPRO 1100L with 2 x 12V12Ah batteries. This unit will deliver a pure sine wave 230VAC 800W for a minimum of 30 minutes".

Has any one ever heard of or used one of these? Am I being silly and missing some other obvious solution? Being a student, I do not have a massive budget but will do what I can to ensure the tank gets the best that I can afford.

Thanks in advance for the help.

LCornelius

Reaction score
Are you sure on the 12amp batteries?

They will not work, you will at least need 105amp batteries.

If I may ask, how much did they qoute?

Reaction score
I bought my battery from Mr Battery or similar and the inverter from Matrixwarehouse.
@Bendor do you have any vague price estimate for this?

Are you sure on the 12amp batteries
Quote definitely says 12 amps yes... Not knowing enough about these sorts of things I know I am opening myself up to be taken for a ride by retailers that's why I thought that I should check with more knowledgeable people.

The quote I received was for R6500...

Last edited by a moderator:

Toolboysa

Reaction score