Pokpo Syphon Device Experiences

Reaction score
Hi all,

I am a newbie to the marine world. I purchased an Infinity Marine Tank, that I estimate to be around 38 to 42 litres. The tank has been cycling for about three months now. It has the following equipment;

2 x Skyye LED Lights each with an output of 8W
IM Skimate Ghost Skimmer
CaribSea Aragonite Reef Sand- 6.8kgs
Hydor 100W Heater

I have currently one Fire Shrimp in the tank.

I have ceramic rings, as well as Seachem Matrix in the filter compartment with a bit of carbon.
In the return compartment, I have also added some Seachem Matrix in a bag.

I have used about 1kg of live rock and three kgs of dead rock to get the tank cycled. I have however purchased 4kgs of live rock and will use this on my sump conversion.

I have purchased a Pokpo Syphon System, and will use this to get the water into the sump, which is 25 litres. The sump will also house the dry rock and therefore this will reduce the actual capacity of available water in the sump, however, I need to increase the biological filtration.

I would like to eventually stock the tank with a Peppermint Shrimp (hopefully the Fire Shrimp will tolerate him), and two or three clown fish, as well as a sand shifting goby.

I would just like to find out if any of you out there have had success using the Pokpo System? What have your experiences been like?

Regards,

"The sump will also house the dry rock and....."

Correction to above: The sump will house the 4kgs of Live Rock

Almost all the tanks around here are drilled and with overflows fitted.
Not a lot of systems that uses over the top outlet systems.

Hi Riaan,

Thank you for the response. I tried to set up this past weekend but had to carry out a few mods to the Pokpo as well. Not really impressed with the device if I'm honest.

Regards