PLEASE answer these questions regarding a nano and a sump

Matt

Wrasse
Joined
5 Jan 2008
Posts
1,976
Reaction score
41
Location
JHB
Nano in question: 24G JBJ Nano Cube. Currently stocked with 1 midas blenny, and 2 clowns. +-14kg LR. So tank is around 90L.


If I were to add a sump...

1.) What would it cost (ballpark figure) to setup a sump for this nano, how many L would I want it to be?

2.) How would I have to modify the plumbing to get a sump to work (I currently have an Atlas 1200 that pumps water from the rear chamber, down to my chiller, and back into my tank, could I use this pump?

3.) If I increase my water volume (total volume) can I keep more fish in my display tank??

4.) What should I look to pay for a skimmer? Is it feasible to run a skimmer as the tank is in my bedroom.

Please answer my questions as 1.) 2.) etc etc

Many thanks! ;)
 

Matt

Wrasse
Joined
5 Jan 2008
Posts
1,976
Reaction score
41
Location
JHB
Also, if the sump & skimmer is too loud for a bedroom, is it feasible to only run the skimmer during the day (when i'm out) ??
 

Rory

Admin
Joined
5 May 2007
Posts
4,857
Reaction score
37
Location
JHB
Replies in bold below:

Nano in question: 24G JBJ Nano Cube. Currently stocked with 1 midas blenny, and 2 clowns. +-14kg LR. So tank is around 90L.


If I were to add a sump...

1.) What would it cost (ballpark figure) to setup a sump for this nano, how many L would I want it to be?

Cheapest would be to buy some sort of a plastic bucket to use as a sump. <R100, then you will need a return pump of some sort, maybe R200-300 and some plumbing, should be <R100. The overflow is a bit of a problem though. In that kind of tank I think drilling a hole or 2 in the side at the top would be best, but you would have to empty the tank completely and risk cracking the glass.

2.) How would I have to modify the plumbing to get a sump to work (I currently have an Atlas 1200 that pumps water from the rear chamber, down to my chiller, and back into my tank, could I use this pump?

You probably could. You need to have an overflow of some sort on the tank though. You can then place the pump in the sump, and have it pump through the chiller and back into the tank.

3.) If I increase my water volume (total volume) can I keep more fish in my display tank??

No not really. Fish need space to swim. Adding a huge sump won't make this any better, it will only assist in the buffering capacity of the system.

4.) What should I look to pay for a skimmer? Is it feasible to run a skimmer as the tank is in my bedroom.

It should be ok if you place it in some sort of cabinet, otherwise it might get a bit annoying. It should be much quieter than your chiller though. I suppose you could switch the skimmer off at night if you really needed to but it's not really ideal as the system wouldn't be as stable.

Please answer my questions as 1.) 2.) etc etc

Many thanks! ;)
 

Rory

Admin
Joined
5 May 2007
Posts
4,857
Reaction score
37
Location
JHB
Another possible way to add a sump to a tank that isn't already drilled with an overflow is to add the sump above the tank somewhere, ie. you pump up to the sump and then the sump has an overflow that goes to the tank.
 

Galibore

Retired Moderator
Joined
6 May 2007
Posts
2,828
Reaction score
19
Location
Germiston
4. You would probably look at something like a Reeftek TS1 (I have one and can really recommend it). They are in-sump though. Mine makes almost no noise save for the water falling back into the sump but that can easily be fixed with the sponges that comes with it.

You will look at payning R1,000 - R1,200 for it.
 

Matt

Wrasse
Joined
5 Jan 2008
Posts
1,976
Reaction score
41
Location
JHB
So I cant just place a pump in the sump that will suck water to and from the main tank?
 

Rory

Admin
Joined
5 May 2007
Posts
4,857
Reaction score
37
Location
JHB
Nope, that won't work... 1 pump can't take water to the sump and return it. It's basically impossible to "balance" 2 pumps to do it at the same rate. Hence you have to have an overflow type design...

Note: The only exception I can think of is if you have a sump with the top at the same level as your tank, ie. your sump is next to your tank. Then you can have a pump going one way and a siphon going the other way...
 

DragonReef

Yellow Tang
Joined
4 May 2007
Posts
2,600
Reaction score
2
Location
Durban, ZA
Nope Matt, you would never be able to get the pumps to flow at the same rate and you gaureenteed to flood the tank or sump.
 

DragonReef

Yellow Tang
Joined
4 May 2007
Posts
2,600
Reaction score
2
Location
Durban, ZA
Rory too quick :p
 

Matt

Wrasse
Joined
5 Jan 2008
Posts
1,976
Reaction score
41
Location
JHB
Roadblock: reason for the sump would also to be to add some L to the total tank volume
 

lIghty

Purple Tang
Joined
3 Nov 2007
Posts
5,052
Reaction score
53
Location
Westville, Durban
Matt, let try this 1, 2, 3....

1. You should try go as big as possible, the more water in the system the better, I built a complex 100l sump and it cost me about R550 I think, so work on about R400 if you DIY.

2. You would not be able to use the chiller system to supply the sump, you would have to drill your tank for a overflow or get a hang-on over flow (think reef octopus makes one that's about +-R800)

3. Yes & No, Like Rory stated, fish need space to move, by adding a sump, it increases the overall volume of water in the system, creating a more "stable" system. Things generally happen slower in bigger tanks. But having said that, you may be able to add 1 or 2 small fish to the tank as long as there is enough space!

4. Noise could be a problem, running a skimmer 24hrs a day is best. Like Rory said, boxing it up will help, but you'll get used to it.


IMO, Maybe it's time to get a bigger system, you don't want to over capitalize as you will never get your money back, rather decide what you want and aim for it. Most of us have been down this road, me included, going from a 150l to 550l......

remember its best to ask before doing something. Best of luck.
 

Similar threads


Top