Pics from Anacapa, CA

Reaction score
Some cold water beauties from Anacapa Island off the coast of California, USA. I had to wear a 7mm wetsuit (ugh!!)... but it was worth it! Please forgive the somewhat poor quality of these photos (I'm still learning how to use my UW rig/camera). Cheers.

749eb728e50418.jpg

749eb72b42ff45.jpg

749eb6c76c7e25.jpg

749eb6d2584797.jpg

749eb6d257b710.jpg

749eb6d2568a4d.jpg

749eb6d2950507.jpg

749eb6d2968400.jpg

749eb700cdb675.jpg

749eb71afe7e1c.jpg

749eb725200ad8.jpg

Great pics Sara!!!!

Here's a quiz for people. What are the Oxygen filled bladders called on the sea kelp? (2nd to last picture)

I think the bladders are properly called vesicles.

Great pic Sihaya, beautiful creatures those nudibranchs, amazing colours.

P.s. in the UK we always wear 7mm wetsuits - or even better dry suits;) the sea temp in the UK is only ever 15C at the warmest time of the year - it is more often much colder.

Some cold water beauties from Anacapa Island off the coast of California, USA. I had to wear a 7mm wetsuit (ugh!!)... but it was worth it! Please forgive the somewhat poor quality of these photos (I'm still learning how to use my UW rig/camera). Cheers.

lol you must be joking:lol:

these pics are awesome...thanks for sharing

Haha, thanks... but to the "discerning" eye, the f-stop is just not set right in most of them (too shallow a depth of field)... not to mention, I took some 300 photos just to get 20 or so decent ones. ::sigh:: Thank god we're not still using film!! :p

P.s. in the UK we always wear 7mm wetsuits - or even better dry suits;) the sea temp in the UK is only ever 15C at the warmest time of the year - it is more often much colder.

Some of the people on the boat were wearing dry suits instead. They did look a lot more confortable...

heheh mike and sihaya, come dive Norway with me, i dont think its the 7mm neoprene that will impress you, its the way they keep the boat engines chopping the ice up :)