Phosphate Reactor

Joined
28 Dec 2007
Posts
12,781
Reaction score
31
Location
JHB
What pump is suggested for a phosphate reactor ?

I have a Resun FBF-500
 
Joined
8 May 2007
Posts
3,034
Reaction score
108
Use a small pump or a medium sized pump with a ball valve.Enough to move the phosphate media slowly.Like a slow swirl effect.The ballvalve is merely to allow u to set the flow.
 
Joined
28 Dec 2007
Posts
12,781
Reaction score
31
Location
JHB
Can I not connect it via clear tubing ? A ball valve would mean PVC :(
 

viper357

Admin
Joined
4 May 2007
Posts
29,858
Reaction score
1,392
I'm sure you should be able to, or perhaps a plumbing, hydraulic, garden centre or a place like valverite, the one in my pic came with my Two Little Fishies phosban reactor.

If not then just run a small pump, a resun king 1 is perfect and very cheap, about R60.
 
Joined
28 Dec 2007
Posts
12,781
Reaction score
31
Location
JHB
I'm sure you should be able to, or perhaps a plumbing, hydraulic, garden centre or a place like valverite, the one in my pic came with my Two Little Fishies phosban reactor.

If not then just run a small pump, a resun king 1 is perfect and very cheap, about R60.
So i can run it on a small pump only, similar to the top-up pump. If yes then this is really easy.
 
Joined
28 Dec 2007
Posts
12,781
Reaction score
31
Location
JHB
OK, so I have had to go with a 1800L/h pump because of the 20mm fittings.

What sort of flow should go through the reactor ? I have a regulator on the inlet pipe.
 

viper357

Admin
Joined
4 May 2007
Posts
29,858
Reaction score
1,392
I like to have enough flow going through so that just the top 1cm of media appears to be 'bubbling'.
 

viper357

Admin
Joined
4 May 2007
Posts
29,858
Reaction score
1,392
Not sure about Phosban, I used the Seachem media and it says it must be rinsed.

It should say on the container.
 

Similar threads


Top