phosphate reactor

Discussion in 'Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers' started by nico.m.ferreira, 13 Mar 2010.

  1. nico.m.ferreira

    nico.m.ferreira

    Joined:
    18 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pretoria/Centurion
    Good day.

    Can anybody help me?
    How does a phosphate reactor work?
    What does it do?
    How is the maintenanse and cost involved in ceeping one for a 600l tank.
    What size is recomended for 600l (excluding sump of about 100l)

    Regards Nico
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Tobes

    Tobes Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    30 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    9,482
    Likes Received:
    118
    Location:
    A Beautiful place!
    Just google it, you'll get most of the info and what they look like as well as different models for tanks ;)
     
  4. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    Hi Nico

    Water enters the reactor from one end, gets filtered through the media and comes out on the other end.
    You can get yourself a decent reactor eg. Phosban for under R1000.00. Then you got to get the media for it. The prices vary. Rowaphos, from what I have noticed, seems to be the most expensive. Brightwell on the other hand seems to be alot cheaper. Contact our sponsor, they should be able to help you out.
    The standard Phosban reactor will be sufficient for your size tank.
     
  5. nico.m.ferreira

    nico.m.ferreira Thread Starter

    Joined:
    18 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pretoria/Centurion
    Thanx for the quick help.
    So it filters ot the phosphate?
     
  6. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    Errrmm...Sorry Nico, I dont understand this :blush:
     
  7. nico.m.ferreira

    nico.m.ferreira Thread Starter

    Joined:
    18 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pretoria/Centurion
    Sorry my mistake. The backberry got small botons.
    Anyway, so ir removes the phosphates from the water
     
  8. Nemos Janitor

    Nemos Janitor

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    8,384
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Joe's Mountain
    No it filters out nothing. Well not like you emagin. The media, Phosban, rowaphos, elemiphos etc is a chemical means of removing PO4. All of this media does not need to be in a reactor. However a reactors purpose is to keep the media in suspension. (fluidized) increasing efficentcy.
     
  9. nico.m.ferreira

    nico.m.ferreira Thread Starter

    Joined:
    18 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pretoria/Centurion
    Sorry my fault,thwe blackberry go small buttons.
    Anyway I ment to ask, "so the phosphate reactor rmoves the phosphate from the water?
    Why don't we get nitrate/nitrit reactors?
     
  10. Nemos Janitor

    Nemos Janitor

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    8,384
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Joe's Mountain
    We do. There are many forms and this is the basis of marine species keeping. I suggest you look up @Tobes foot note or google arobic & anerobic filters. Complex as it may seem this is only the rewarding begining. Bud this is why we say take it slow. So much to learn &little patients:thumbup:
     
  11. nico.m.ferreira

    nico.m.ferreira Thread Starter

    Joined:
    18 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pretoria/Centurion
    Haha. You got that right.
    I got a massive hair algea outbreak that is out of controle.
    Do you think it will work to help me defeat the algea outbreak?
     
  12. Nemos Janitor

    Nemos Janitor

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    8,384
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Joe's Mountain
    If you are asking if a PO4 reactor will cure a bryopsis issue? The answer is NO. It will help in the fight though as "P" Phosphates are essential to all life. Limit "P" and algae is deprived of food. However, Bryopsis thrives on available ammonia, nutrients and light. Sort these out and your issues are history.
     
  13. nico.m.ferreira

    nico.m.ferreira Thread Starter

    Joined:
    18 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pretoria/Centurion
    How many hours light would you sugest per day.
    I am thinking of increasing the overflow area and bigger return pump.
     
  14. Tobes

    Tobes Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    30 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    9,482
    Likes Received:
    118
    Location:
    A Beautiful place!
    Increasing the return flow won't help cause then the skimmer will be less effective. I know you have a 600-700l setup, but in order for us to give you the right advice, we need to know how long the tank's running, lights type and duration, flow pumps, water parameters, what livestock you got, feeding habits, type of skimmer and most of all pics of the tank and sump. Let's start with all this so we can see where the problem lies.Posted via Mobile Device
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - phosphate reactor Forum Date
[wtd] Phosphate reactor Wanted 27 Mar 2016
[wtd] Phosphate Reactor Wanted 16 Dec 2014
Making my own phosphate reactor Anything DIY Related 16 Oct 2014
[wtd] Phosphate Reactor Wanted 29 Sep 2014
[wtd] Phosphate reactor Wanted 15 Sep 2014
[wtd] 1000lt Phosphate reactor Wanted 7 Nov 2013
[wtd] phosphate reactor Wanted 25 Oct 2012