Phosphate reactor question

Discussion in 'Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers' started by gaboon, 14 Mar 2009.

  1. gaboon

    gaboon

    Joined:
    14 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    2,241
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Northriding
    I'm using the 2 little fishies reactor, started with phosban media. I've now changed to rowaphos and my glass is getting dirty much faster now. I know the 2 little fishes reactor is only rated for about 500L which is roughly the size of my tank. Rowaphos instructions indicate half the amount of media than phosban. I would double it but its expensive stuff.

    Could it be due to the fact the reactor is only rated for 500L and I'm using half the media?
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Tony

    Tony

    Joined:
    23 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    4,093
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Honeydew, Johannesburg
    More than likely. Rowaphos is more espensive but you get more media. Try adding a little more either in a stocking or to the reactor
     
  4. lIghty

    lIghty

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Westville, Durban
    don't think that where the problem is, after all, how do you rate a Phos reactor, its the media with in the reactor that does the job, the reactor is simply a holding container, BUT if you don't have enough flow thru the media, that could be a problem. IMHO.
     
  5. gaboon

    gaboon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    14 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    2,241
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Northriding
    Good point but if I remember correctly, the reef oct reactor is rated much higher, (1500L+) correct me if I'm wrong. Should a phos reactor have high flow?
     
  6. Shaun

    Shaun Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 Aug 2007
    Posts:
    5,274
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    KZN
    The media should just "bubble",so not very high flow.
     
  7. lIghty

    lIghty

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Westville, Durban
    As Shaun said, not all that fast.

    But Gaboon, I still don't know how they rate it because, if you have the same reactor with the same volume of media, one product absorbing say 10mg/l and the other 20mg/l, the one with the 20mg/l media will remove twice the amount of PO4, from the same reactor. It all depends on the media product used and the volume of the product needed to remove the desired amount of PO4.

    Hope that makes sense:whistling:
     
  8. gaboon

    gaboon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    14 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    2,241
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Northriding
    Shot lIghty, will double media in the morning.
     
  9. lIghty

    lIghty

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Westville, Durban
    I've never used Rowaphos before, maybe just check with someone thats used it before doubling up, was mainly trying to get my point of how you can't really rate a phos reactor.
     
  10. gaboon

    gaboon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    14 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    2,241
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Northriding
    Point taken, thats why I thought reef octos reactor's rating was weird.
     
  11. lIghty

    lIghty

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Westville, Durban
    Far as i'm concerned, if you require say 500ml of media and it can if into the reactor it will work, whether that fills 20% or fills it to the top, it not the size of the reactor but the amount of media. subject to flow within reason.
     
  12. gaboon

    gaboon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    14 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    2,241
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Northriding
    Thats exactly whats happening, the rowaphos is filling a quarter of the reactors tube whereas phosban was filling half the tube. I'm having to clean the glass every day now. Phosphates are still undetectable though.
     
  13. lIghty

    lIghty

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Westville, Durban
    Problem might lie somewhere else then, Whats changed in the system?
    any new supplements?
    NO3 reading?
    New foods?

    How long you been using Rowaphos now, perhaps it takes time to kick in?
     
  14. gaboon

    gaboon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    14 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    2,241
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Northriding
    Pulled out a ton of halimeda a few days ago. Nothing new otherwise, rowaphos has been in for a week now. I'll give it another week or 2 and see how it goes.
     
  15. lIghty

    lIghty

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Westville, Durban
    good idea, If your PO4 is 0 (using a good test kit) then there is nothing wrong with it, must be something else, like you say, give it some time.
     
  16. gaboon

    gaboon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    14 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    2,241
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Northriding
    Thanks bro
     
  17. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    Gaboon, please can i get some next time you prune, I would love some for my refuge :):)
     
  18. gaboon

    gaboon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    14 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    2,241
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Northriding
    With pleasure, didn't know people wanted it.
     
  19. Bob the (reef)builder

    Bob the (reef)builder

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    1,779
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Joburg
    There are some kits that are completely useless with PO4. What are you using?
     
  20. gaboon

    gaboon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    14 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    2,241
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Northriding
    TM, should I try something else?
     
  21. lIghty

    lIghty

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Westville, Durban
    TM is good!
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Phosphate reactor question Forum Date
Phosphate Reactor Question General Discussions and Advice 30 May 2008
[wtd] Phosphate reactor Wanted 27 Mar 2016
[wtd] Phosphate Reactor Wanted 16 Dec 2014
Making my own phosphate reactor Anything DIY Related 16 Oct 2014
[wtd] Phosphate Reactor Wanted 29 Sep 2014
[wtd] Phosphate reactor Wanted 15 Sep 2014
[wtd] 1000lt Phosphate reactor Wanted 7 Nov 2013