Phosphate media in overflow

Discussion in 'Water Parameters and Additives' started by gaboon, 2 Apr 2008.

  1. gaboon

    gaboon

    Joined:
    14 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    2,241
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Northriding
    I have no space in my sump so I've put this in my overflow.

    [​IMG]

    Is this ok? My skimmer is now going into overdrive
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. LikesFish

    LikesFish

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2007
    Posts:
    939
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Canada
    I would not do it. The flow is not enough especially with a durso standpipe.
     
  4. gaboon

    gaboon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    14 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    2,241
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Northriding
    Its hard to tell in the pic but the return pipes siphon break (nearly an inch in length) is pumping out a jet of water directly onto the bag, much better than I was getting in my sump.
     
  5. Rory

    Rory Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    5 May 2007
    Posts:
    4,850
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    JHB
    It's not ideal. It's better to have your chemical filtration after your biological and mechanical filtration. ie. it should be after your skimmer and dsb if you have...
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Phosphate media overflow Forum Date
Phosphate media help General Discussions and Advice Today at 09:33
What phosphate media is better Chemical Filtration / Low Nutrient Systems - LNS 11 Jun 2014
bulk phosphate media Water Parameters and Additives 23 Mar 2014
RE-CYCLES all Ferric Oxide / Hydroxide based phosphate removal media. 1.2kgs RE-... JungleAquatics.NET BLOG 12 Oct 2012
Best Phosphate Reactor & Media Chemical Filtration / Low Nutrient Systems - LNS 10 Nov 2011
Phosphate media ► Sponsor Request Forum 15 Dec 2007
Reducing Nitrates & Phosphates Water Parameters and Additives 28 Nov 2016