Phosphate and Carbon Reactors

Joined
5 Oct 2007
Posts
1,607
Reaction score
14
Location
Cape Town
Could anyone tell me what the ideal waterflow through the units would be for optimal effectiveness?
 
Joined
4 May 2007
Posts
2,600
Reaction score
2
Location
Durban, ZA
Alfie what kind of reactor have you got ?
 
Joined
10 Sep 2007
Posts
9,395
Reaction score
26
Location
Centurion
Or try the king#1
Remeber not to fill the phos reactor to the top,keep the phos rinse 1/2 in the reactor.
You can fill the carbon reactor 3/4.
 
Joined
6 May 2007
Posts
1,494
Reaction score
38
Location
USA
Even if you get a pump that's a bit too much, I think most reactors come with a flow control valve (at least mine did).
 
Joined
5 Oct 2007
Posts
1,607
Reaction score
14
Location
Cape Town
Thanks for the responses. If 400 - 500 L/H is optimal then I am happy to set up like that.
 
Joined
28 Dec 2007
Posts
12,781
Reaction score
31
Location
JHB
Is there any limitation to how big a carbon reactor can be ?

Could you use a unit that hold 4kg of Carbon on a 500L system ?
 
Joined
10 Jun 2007
Posts
1,783
Reaction score
10
Location
durban,kloof
you could do that but the only problem i can see it that the carbon will strip the water of most elements that are good to your tank and you may have to supplement your tank more often.
 

Similar threads


Top