Phosphate and Carbon Reactors

Discussion in 'Water Parameters and Additives' started by Alfie, 19 Nov 2007.

  1. Alfie

    Alfie

    Joined:
    5 Oct 2007
    Posts:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Could anyone tell me what the ideal waterflow through the units would be for optimal effectiveness?
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. DragonReef

    DragonReef

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,601
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Durban, ZA
    Alfie what kind of reactor have you got ?
     
  4. Alfie

    Alfie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    5 Oct 2007
    Posts:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Hi Anthony, AM reactors
     
  5. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    is it the dual reactor? or are they individual?
     
  6. Alfie

    Alfie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    5 Oct 2007
    Posts:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Hi Mekaeel, they are single reactors
     
  7. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    400 - 500 lph for each reactor i would say.try the reefoctopus otp 500 pump
     
  8. lanzo

    lanzo Sponsor

    Joined:
    10 Sep 2007
    Posts:
    9,396
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Centurion
    Or try the king#1
    Remeber not to fill the phos reactor to the top,keep the phos rinse 1/2 in the reactor.
    You can fill the carbon reactor 3/4.
     
  9. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    yes the king1's work fine but i feel they pack up too fast
     
  10. sihaya

    sihaya

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    USA
    Even if you get a pump that's a bit too much, I think most reactors come with a flow control valve (at least mine did).
     
  11. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    otherwise you can add on a ball valve to control the flow
     
  12. Alfie

    Alfie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    5 Oct 2007
    Posts:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Thanks for the responses. If 400 - 500 L/H is optimal then I am happy to set up like that.
     
  13. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    Is there any limitation to how big a carbon reactor can be ?

    Could you use a unit that hold 4kg of Carbon on a 500L system ?
     
  14. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    [​IMG]
     
  15. gaz19

    gaz19

    Joined:
    10 Jun 2007
    Posts:
    1,783
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    durban,kloof
    you could do that but the only problem i can see it that the carbon will strip the water of most elements that are good to your tank and you may have to supplement your tank more often.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Phosphate Carbon Reactors Forum Date
Phosphate and carbon reactors Beginner Discussions 20 Nov 2007
Danimals DIY Phosphate and Carbon Reactor Anything DIY Related 20 Dec 2009
Kent Carbon and Phosphate Remover Chemical Filtration / Low Nutrient Systems - LNS 12 Mar 2009
Carbon & Phosphate reactor Anything DIY Related 19 Feb 2008
Phosphate Reactor/Carbon positioning? Water Parameters and Additives 11 Jan 2008
Carbon / phosphate remover Biological/Natural Filtration and Deep Sand Beds 3 Jul 2007
Reducing Nitrates & Phosphates Water Parameters and Additives 28 Nov 2016