Phosphate and Carbon Reactors

Joined
5 Oct 2007
Posts
1,607
Reaction score
14
Location
Cape Town
Could anyone tell me what the ideal waterflow through the units would be for optimal effectiveness?
 
Joined
4 May 2007
Posts
2,600
Reaction score
2
Location
Durban, ZA
Alfie what kind of reactor have you got ?
 
Joined
10 Sep 2007
Posts
9,395
Reaction score
26
Location
Centurion
Or try the king#1
Remeber not to fill the phos reactor to the top,keep the phos rinse 1/2 in the reactor.
You can fill the carbon reactor 3/4.
 
Joined
6 May 2007
Posts
1,494
Reaction score
38
Location
USA
Even if you get a pump that's a bit too much, I think most reactors come with a flow control valve (at least mine did).
 
Joined
5 Oct 2007
Posts
1,607
Reaction score
14
Location
Cape Town
Thanks for the responses. If 400 - 500 L/H is optimal then I am happy to set up like that.
 
Joined
28 Dec 2007
Posts
12,781
Reaction score
31
Location
JHB
Is there any limitation to how big a carbon reactor can be ?

Could you use a unit that hold 4kg of Carbon on a 500L system ?
 
Joined
10 Jun 2007
Posts
1,783
Reaction score
10
Location
durban,kloof
you could do that but the only problem i can see it that the carbon will strip the water of most elements that are good to your tank and you may have to supplement your tank more often.
 

Top