Phosban reactor

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by Wetty, 13 Oct 2008.

  1. Wetty

    Wetty Rockford Fosgate Fish

    Joined:
    17 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alberton ,Johannesburg
    Wot exactly is a Phosban Reactor and wot is its purpose?
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    It is a reactor for Phosban :whistling:

    It is a brand of PO4 remover.
     
  4. Wetty

    Wetty Thread Starter Rockford Fosgate Fish

    Joined:
    17 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alberton ,Johannesburg
    Is it needed? Is it more for fish only set ups....or more for coral set ups?
     
  5. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    More for coral setups and if you don't like Cyano
     
  6. Wetty

    Wetty Thread Starter Rockford Fosgate Fish

    Joined:
    17 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alberton ,Johannesburg
    Fanx. So I only need it later on.
     
  7. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    Depends on what your PO4 levels are ?

    oops what Mike send
     
    Last edited: 13 Oct 2008
  8. Mike

    Mike Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    12 May 2007
    Posts:
    7,859
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    the Motherland
    It is usually best to run the reactor (or similar) to ensure P04 levels are kept at zero, prevention being better than cure.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 13 Oct 2008
  9. dogstar

    dogstar

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    505
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    jhb
    I bought this for use in my tank AquaMedic Antiphos Fe:
    Aqua Medic : Seawater Catalogue : Filter substrate : antiphos Fe
    Basically will bag it and place in my sumps return chamber.

    Don't have the money or space at this point in time for reactors. What are your guys thoughts on this product?
    When should i start using it, immediately or once i get livestock.
     
  10. Mike

    Mike Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    12 May 2007
    Posts:
    7,859
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    the Motherland
    I prefer Rowaphos but that is ok, run it from the start to prevet rather than cure the problem of high phosphates - they are killers in reef tanks.
     
  11. dogstar

    dogstar

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    505
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    jhb
    Cool, I will stick it in the tank asap :)
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Phosban reactor Forum Date
[wtd] Phosban reactor Wanted 17 May 2016
two little fishies phosban reactor 150 ► Sponsor Request Forum 8 Jun 2015
[wtd] Phosban Reactor 150 Wanted 21 Mar 2015
[wtd] Phosban Reactor Wanted 28 Nov 2014
[wtd] Looking for a Bio Pellet / Phosban Reactor Wanted 19 Aug 2014
[wtd] PhosBan Reactor 150 Wanted 30 Apr 2014
[wtd] Wanted Phosban / Carbon Reactor Wanted 12 Jan 2014