Phos Remover

Discussion in 'Chemical Filtration / Low Nutrient Systems - LNS' started by Pete, 4 Jul 2008.

  1. Pete

    Pete

    Joined:
    3 Apr 2008
    Posts:
    1,196
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Under the sea
    Hi all, want to connect up the two little fishies Phos reactor that I got with the tank, but want to replace the filter media first. What do you guys sugest I use in it. Read the thread on chemi-pure can I put this in there insted of rowa..
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    i would go for Rowaphos.Chemi-pure is more of a passive type of phosphate remover.
     
  4. Pete

    Pete Thread Starter

    Joined:
    3 Apr 2008
    Posts:
    1,196
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Under the sea
    Hi Mekaeel, sorry for being so dump but what do you mean buy passive.
     
  5. Pete

    Pete Thread Starter

    Joined:
    3 Apr 2008
    Posts:
    1,196
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Under the sea
    sorry one more thing could a person put seachem purigen in that two little fishie thingy or should a person only use rowaphase in the
     
  6. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    passive,it is just placed in your sump in a high flow area (obviously in a bag or stocking)
     
  7. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    sorry not too sure about the way Purigen is run (no experience with it).but it is fine to run more than one type of p04 remover on a system :)
     
  8. brentnorm

    brentnorm

    Joined:
    6 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    2,198
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Cape Town
    I just have a small hang on filter in my sump with a purigen bag in it. Runs permanently.
     
  9. Rory

    Rory Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    5 May 2007
    Posts:
    4,850
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    JHB
    You could put purigen in there if you really wanted but you don't need to. If you have a small tank you can buy the purigen already in a bag and just put it in a high flow area in your sump.
     
  10. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,984
    Likes Received:
    780
    I am a big fan of Seachem Phosguard, I prefer it over all other media I have used because it is in the shape of little round balls and they tumble nicely in the reactor.
     
  11. SIMS

    SIMS

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    3,008
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Empangeni
    viper do the balls break up and turn to powder...?
     
  12. Rory

    Rory Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    5 May 2007
    Posts:
    4,850
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    JHB
    No they don't.
     
  13. Pete

    Pete Thread Starter

    Joined:
    3 Apr 2008
    Posts:
    1,196
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Under the sea
    Thanks viper357 so Seachem Phosguard it is in the reactor and will look at putting a small filter in the sump with purigen in it thanks for all the advice
     
  14. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    judging by the quality of most seachem products,im pretty sure Phosguard will be on 'one of the best' list of phoshate removers.
     
  15. brentnorm

    brentnorm

    Joined:
    6 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    2,198
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Cape Town
    I have running in my tank and its really top class
     
  16. Rory

    Rory Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    5 May 2007
    Posts:
    4,850
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    JHB
    Just watch out when it first comes into contact with water that you don't burn yourself...
     
  17. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,984
    Likes Received:
    780
    Definitely not, I have been running it for a couple of months and there is no dust/powder/mud at all.

    It just needs a bit of a rinse in some water first to remove whatever dust is in there from the manufacturing process, after that it's fine. I have used a couple of others and won't use anything else now.
     
  18. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    what you mean by this Rory?
     
  19. Alfie

    Alfie

    Joined:
    5 Oct 2007
    Posts:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Cape Town
    I think he means when you initially rinse it with RO it becomes very hot.
     
  20. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    oh ok,some form of chemical reaction i guess
     
  21. SIMS

    SIMS

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    3,008
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Empangeni
    Thanks... I'll get some asap because I'm sick of the dust....
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Phos Remover Forum Date
Filtration pad phosphate remover General Discussions and Advice 12 Oct 2016
Phosphate removers General Discussions and Advice 13 Mar 2015
Phosphate Remover and Biocubes! Nuisance Algae 10 Feb 2015
Phosphate remover Chemical Filtration / Low Nutrient Systems - LNS 14 Jun 2014
seachem phosguard or microbelift phos remover? Water Parameters and Additives 7 Dec 2012
NP pellets & a Phosphate Remover Chemical Filtration / Low Nutrient Systems - LNS 23 Mar 2012
which phosphate remover would you suggest? General Discussions and Advice 20 Jul 2011