Phos and NO3 media together in reactor.

Discussion in 'Chemical Filtration / Low Nutrient Systems - LNS' started by Mc, 28 Jun 2012.

  1. Mc

    Mc

    Joined:
    8 Jun 2011
    Posts:
    2,650
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Benoni
    Hi All.

    I have been building my own media reactor and it includes two compartment. One is for the nitrate media Brightwells XportNO3 and the other is for a phosphate remover, probably phosgaurd.

    I was just wondering if they will be ok together?
    The NO3 media will be near the pump so the water will be flowing through that, then through the phos media and then out.

    I will also be injecting a carbon source directly into the filter.
    The flow will be quite slow.
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Wes

    Wes

    Joined:
    24 Jan 2012
    Posts:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Randburg
    you could do this with Orca's range of phos and Nitrate removers.
     
  4. Mc

    Mc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    8 Jun 2011
    Posts:
    2,650
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Benoni
    Are these the cubes.
    I have heard they are very similar.
     
  5. 459b

    459b Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    9,733
    Likes Received:
    785
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Rather put them in different reactors. Different media will most likely need different flow and changing at different times. Having it in separate reactors will make this a lot easier.
     
  6. Wes

    Wes

    Joined:
    24 Jan 2012
    Posts:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Randburg
    Correct cubes
     
  7. Mc

    Mc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    8 Jun 2011
    Posts:
    2,650
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Benoni
    I understand what you are saying.
    The problem is in a tank like mine there really is only space for one reactor.

    I was just looking on brightwells website and I see there XportPO4 needs the same very slow flow rate as the XportNO3, so I might just go for that.

    The compartments on my filter are also fully detachable from eachother, so that won't be a problem.
     
  8. Wes

    Wes

    Joined:
    24 Jan 2012
    Posts:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Randburg
    With the cubes and Phosphaguard you won't even need a reactor.
     
  9. Mc

    Mc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    8 Jun 2011
    Posts:
    2,650
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Benoni
    I am not finding them to efficient just like that.
    I have the first reactor I built with the xportNO3 in its has improved the rate it removes nitrates quite a lot.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Phos media together Forum Date
reactor vs phosguard in media tray in nano Chemical Filtration / Low Nutrient Systems - LNS 20 Jan 2015
What phosphate media is better Chemical Filtration / Low Nutrient Systems - LNS 11 Jun 2014
bulk phosphate media Water Parameters and Additives 23 Mar 2014
RE-CYCLES all Ferric Oxide / Hydroxide based phosphate removal media. 1.2kgs RE-... JungleAquatics.NET BLOG 12 Oct 2012
Phospha-Guard Granulated Iron Media was specifically designed to absorb phosphat... JungleAquatics.NET BLOG 12 Oct 2012
Best Phosphate Reactor & Media Chemical Filtration / Low Nutrient Systems - LNS 10 Nov 2011
Phosmedia + Carbon during cycling Beginner Discussions 1 Jul 2009