Urgent help needed PH too low!

Discussion in 'Urgent Help Needed' started by Landu, 22 Aug 2011.

1. Landu

Landu

I found out today that the place i buy my RO water from's ph is 6.86, so i checked my ph in my tank seeing i've been using this water for 6 months now, and my ph round 7, what can i do to pick the ph back up again, increase the amount of bicarb i dose?

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. pXius

pXius

Lift the KH, some kalk dosing will do the trick. Try to start dosing at night time when lights are out as this is when PH starts to drop the most.

Also you can "pre-buffer" your RO with Brightwells Alkaline 8.3, or whatever buffer you prefer.

4. mariusmeyer

mariusmeyer

PH testing of RO water is pretty useless as it does not have any buffering properties. Proper RO does not have a fixed PH. Add a minute amount of buffer to that RO and the PH totally changes. I suspect there is another reason why the PH is low. I dont believe its the RO water.

5. JD167

JD167

You can't push the PH up too quickly. I'm not sure how much your water volume is, but a water change with the CORRECT PH would help. You will have to do a couple of them. You can dose(drip) some kalk as well as suggested already, but it's important that the PH doesn't shoot up in one go.

Are you running a Calcium reactor?

Edit:
    Also, how often do you do water changes and do you check the PH of new water before doing the change?

Last edited: 22 Aug 2011
  6. Landu

Landu Thread Starter

I've got a 290l DT and 200l sump, running no reactors have got a crushed coral compartment in sump running 2 weeks now...
    Only dosing little Brightwell Idoine, home made bicarb and magnesium(epsom salt) maby on coke bottle cap full each week...
    Waterchange....we'll i'm slacking in that department, normally every 8 weeks and then it's only 20%.