[wtd] Ph controller and probe.

Discussion in 'Wanted' started by Snoek, 20 Jun 2014.

  1. Snoek

    Snoek

    Joined:
    12 May 2013
    Posts:
    926
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Edgemead
    I am desperately looking for a Ph controller and probe. I have connected up my Ca reactor and I am having real issues getting it dialed in.
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Fred d

    Fred d

    Joined:
    10 Aug 2012
    Posts:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    cape town
    What would be a good brand of controller and probe be , for interest sake
     
  4. irie ivan

    irie ivan MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    3,149
    Likes Received:
    171
    Location:
    Bracken
    Milwaukee, aqua medic, hanna.
     
  5. Fred d

    Fred d

    Joined:
    10 Aug 2012
    Posts:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    cape town
    cool ... good to know

    Pondering though ...

    Could one not perhaps try and keep your ph in check by superdosing with carbonates and bicarbonates

    also , as I understand it , the amount of carbonates dissolved in your water column will only rise up to a point where the water is "saturated" so my question would be , can one overdose your tank with said chemicals and what determines that point of saturation
     
  6. HOT SAUCE

    HOT SAUCE

    Joined:
    12 Nov 2012
    Posts:
    1,368
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Manzini / Swaziland
    @Fred d I think the controller and the probe are for the reactor and not the tank... to dissolve the calcium media the water within the reactor has to have a pH of about 5.5.. so you need the probe and controller to switch the co2 on and off around that value.. many people use kalk stirrers together with the calcium reactor to compensate for the drop in pH which might occur. although if set correctly the calcium reactor should dump very concentrated efulent into the system but at a very slow rate that might not affect the pH.

    @irie ivan. I see you left SAGA out of the list.. are they not good controllers.. I'm asking because I'm considering buying one and don't want to end up spending money on something that is not up to the task.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  7. irie ivan

    irie ivan MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    3,149
    Likes Received:
    171
    Location:
    Bracken
    I would not touch saga equipment again. Too inconsistent, you really get what you pay for. Dont let its bling bling look and ease of availability fool you.
    I cannot comment on their controllers, my experience with their regulators has caused me to shy away. Rather save up a bit for a decent brand, especially considering the dangers associated with od of either co2 or kalk.
     
  8. Snoek

    Snoek Thread Starter

    Joined:
    12 May 2013
    Posts:
    926
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Edgemead
    Irie I am going to take your advice here. Malwaukee and Ebay here I come. What model would you go for?
     
  9. Snoek

    Snoek Thread Starter

    Joined:
    12 May 2013
    Posts:
    926
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Edgemead
    As far as the saga' regulators goes I have to agree with Irie Ivan. Every time I dial mine in the Co2 bubble rate changes without anyone messing with it.That has a massive impact on the effluent. That's why I desperately want a controller and probe for my reactor.
     
  10. Suhayl

    Suhayl

    Joined:
    24 Sep 2007
    Posts:
    1,230
    Likes Received:
    18
    I have a used Aquamedic ph controller, with new probe. The probe not Aquamedic, I think its better lab grade stuff.
     
  11. Snoek

    Snoek Thread Starter

    Joined:
    12 May 2013
    Posts:
    926
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Edgemead
    Are you wanting to sell it?
     
  12. Suhayl

    Suhayl

    Joined:
    24 Sep 2007
    Posts:
    1,230
    Likes Received:
    18
    Yip will sell, I have a spare one. Pm your contact number, will chat in the day.
     
  13. reEfa

    reEfa

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2012
    Posts:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Centurion
    I have a ph controller 2 weeks old. Its a macro brand. I will sell it for 400 reason for sale im getting a profilux.
     
  14. Ridwaan

    Ridwaan

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,689
    Likes Received:
    66
    @Snoek, why dont you buy a reef angel plus controller...it comes with ph probe and u can control everything else...
    Gonna cost u a little extra but then u will have a full aquarium computer and you will be able to do a whole lot more...
    @Suhayl has a unit for sale with a whole lot of extras at a good price
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - controller probe Forum Date
[wtd] Ph probe and controller Wanted 2 Jul 2016
[wtd] PH probe and controller Wanted 27 Dec 2014
pH controller and probe ► Sponsor Request Forum 30 Apr 2014
[wtd] Temperature controller needed! Wanted Wednesday at 22:27
LED Timer/Dimming Controller Anything DIY Related Monday at 08:35
[wtd] Dosing controller Wanted 29 Oct 2016
[wtd] Tunze wavecontroller 7092 Wanted 1 Oct 2016