Peninsula Rockpool tank project

Discussion in 'Medium Tanks' started by LuckyFishNet, 21 Jan 2012.

1. LuckyFishNet

LuckyFishNet

Hi everyone,

it's my first time on Masa. I'm always excited, when I see the life in the rockpools. We are doing this rockpool project together.
    LuckyFish will do the technical side and I will join later when it comes to livestock.

Enjoy.

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. LuckyFish

LuckyFish MASA Contributor

4. LuckyFish

The aim to create a system, which is affordable to built and especially affordable to maintain.
    In our case, we use the tank we have standing around and do some modding to prevent that the water temperature rises to high in the tank. We want to keep the system going at around 16 to 18 degrees.

[​IMG]

5. LuckyFish

First thing to do, will be to cut the dividers, the bracing and the back pane out, which is the drilled one in the picture.
    From the bottom part of the back pane, I will get the new bracing, 220mm wide.
    The tank should look like this:

[​IMG]

6. LuckyFish

The next step will be to glue the front pane in. The front pane will an insulated pane. 10mm with a spacer and probably another 4 to 6mm pane as the real front pane. So through the front pane will hardly come any heat and therefore will be also no condensation on the front pane.

[​IMG]

7. SteveZi

SteveZi

exciting so far:)

8. LuckyFish

Here is what it should look like, when the front pane is in. Actually like a normal tank, just with an insulated front pane.

[​IMG]

9. MistaOrange

MistaOrange

Interestin Marcel going to be an awesome build. Tagging along

10. LuckyFish

Now the tank itself has to be insulated.

[​IMG]

11. LuckyFish

Obviously it would be a waste of money to use an insulated front pane, when the tank stays open.
    The lid has be sealed very well. Otherwise there will be to many condensation points along the lid.