P.H killing R.O Membrains ??

Discussion in 'Perky Pets Superstore' started by Perky Pets, 24 Apr 2013.

  1. Perky Pets

    Perky Pets Sponsor

    Joined:
    24 Jun 2010
    Posts:
    2,807
    Likes Received:
    116
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Hi guys , I have a R.O membrane that constantly needs cleaning and chemical washing ...
    We had a chemical analysis done on the counsel water , and they said our p.h was too high ?

    Can this P.H of 9.3 be the problem ?
    Here's a cut out of the report any one see a obvious problem.



    [​IMG]
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. butcherman

    butcherman Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 Sep 2009
    Posts:
    11,626
    Likes Received:
    280
    Location:
    Kempton Park
    Is this your effluent account? or incoming water?
    a pH of 9.35 seems excesive! and your TDS only 94.
     
    Last edited: 24 Apr 2013
  4. Visser

    Visser MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    21 Nov 2011
    Posts:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Willows,Pretoria /Brits
    Also seems a bit dodgy to me...
    Your TDS is actually rather low.
    In brits, we have a TDS of about 450 on the municipal water... On my borehole that I use to put through my RO filter system, i have a TDS of about 700 & PH of 9.1, so the difference isnt that big (between my 9.1 vs 9.3).
    My membranes last about 8-12 months so i dont think it can be the ph...

    Perhaps marco from waterboy can give you a better idea of what the problem might be...
     
  5. Perky Pets

    Perky Pets Thread Starter Sponsor

    Joined:
    24 Jun 2010
    Posts:
    2,807
    Likes Received:
    116
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Thanks guys - its the " tap water '
    I also find it hard to believe , may be Marco can give more info , but I say " Im using the R.O to get better water , if the bad water is killing the membrane in a month - what's the point ? "

    D
     
  6. MistaOrange

    MistaOrange

    Joined:
    20 Jan 2010
    Posts:
    7,756
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Somewhere in Cape Town
    Tagging
     
  7. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,163
    Likes Received:
    1,231
    Location:
    Centurion
    Centurion TDS is between 70 and 90 Depending where you are. So yeah that TDS can be OK.

    Do you have any extra pre-filters, 1micron at least? Or a 5 than a 1?

    Or what else do you have in place before the RO membrane?
     
  8. Perky Pets

    Perky Pets Thread Starter Sponsor

    Joined:
    24 Jun 2010
    Posts:
    2,807
    Likes Received:
    116
    Location:
    Cape Town
    As far as i remember there are two carbon filters then a micron filter , then a membrain then a di resin chamber and all are industrial - about 70cm tall per housing.
    keep in mind , the TDS coming out is 0. ! but th membrane gets clogged and slows from 800 liters per day to 350lpd before its chemically rinsed again...
     
  9. 459b

    459b Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    9,748
    Likes Received:
    789
    Location:
    Cape Town
    No pre filter?
     
  10. Perky Pets

    Perky Pets Thread Starter Sponsor

    Joined:
    24 Jun 2010
    Posts:
    2,807
    Likes Received:
    116
    Location:
    Cape Town
    The micron filter is the prefilter
     
  11. Nemos Janitor

    Nemos Janitor

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    8,384
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Joe's Mountain
    Only sediment and TDS will kill a membrane. On the alkaline + side.

    As stated in previous threads, pre filter with sediment filters.
     
  12. Perky Pets

    Perky Pets Thread Starter Sponsor

    Joined:
    24 Jun 2010
    Posts:
    2,807
    Likes Received:
    116
    Location:
    Cape Town
    This is a pic of what I have -

    1- Carbon Block
    2- Granular activated carbon
    3- 20 micron sediment filter
    4- Industrial membrane
    5- Di resin chamber


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  13. 459b

    459b Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    9,748
    Likes Received:
    789
    Location:
    Cape Town
    that cant be right. Thats not much of a filter at all.
     
  14. Perky Pets

    Perky Pets Thread Starter Sponsor

    Joined:
    24 Jun 2010
    Posts:
    2,807
    Likes Received:
    116
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Mmmm maybe that's the problem , ill ask them to put a smaller micron in any suggestions ( keeping in mind the source waters TDS is 96 ish ?
     
  15. 459b

    459b Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    9,748
    Likes Received:
    789
    Location:
    Cape Town
    RO units normally have sediment filters of 1 or 5 microns.
     
  16. Nemos Janitor

    Nemos Janitor

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    8,384
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Joe's Mountain
    get two 5 micron sediment filters to prefilter the water befor it gos to the RO unit.
     
  17. Perky Pets

    Perky Pets Thread Starter Sponsor

    Joined:
    24 Jun 2010
    Posts:
    2,807
    Likes Received:
    116
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Thanks all for your comments , ill chat to the guys and try make the changes.

    :thumbup:
     
  18. 459b

    459b Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    9,748
    Likes Received:
    789
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Id take out the granular activated carbon. Have first canister 5 micron filter, then carbon block then perhaps another 5 (or even 1) micron filter.
     
    Last edited: 25 Apr 2013
  19. Nur

    Nur Starz

    Joined:
    5 Jan 2011
    Posts:
    1,469
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Cape Town
    @459b, pardon my ignorance. But why?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  20. 459b

    459b Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    9,748
    Likes Received:
    789
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Cant see the point of having two carbon filters. Rather use that space for a proper sediment filter
     
  21. Nur

    Nur Starz

    Joined:
    5 Jan 2011
    Posts:
    1,469
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Ok, just curious. I only use their RO so just wanted to know.
    Haven't had an issue with it ever.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - killing Membrains Forum Date
Urgent help needed Powder blue tang killing other fish Urgent Help Needed 24 Feb 2016
Laser killing of Aptasia General Discussions and Advice 12 Feb 2014
we are killing our oceans Diving, Collecting and Environmental Discussions 7 Nov 2013
Hermits killing my Snails Invertebrates 18 Apr 2013
Killing Majano anemone General Discussions and Advice 18 Jan 2013
Killing Aiptasia General Discussions and Advice 26 Dec 2012
Urgent help needed Marine Ich is killing my fish Urgent Help Needed 30 Jan 2012