Ozone or UV Sterilizer?

Discussion in 'Protein Skimmers, Mechanical Filtration' started by Irma, 27 Mar 2013.

  1. Irma

    Irma

    Joined:
    9 Feb 2011
    Posts:
    440
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Midrand
    This has probably been raised before but I run a sumpless 330L tank with a HOB skimmer so my situation is a little different.

    I do not want to plug in a reactor.

    So, story is that I want to run either ozone or a UV sterilizer on my tank.
    Why - because I want clearer water and because I want to eliminate free swimming parasites and reduce algae growth.

    I do realize that good bacteria will also be eliminated but I am dosing Special Blend every week. Is this good enough?

    So, which way to go? With UV I can attach the unit to the middle brace of the tank with the outlet and inlet pipes running straight down into the water.
    With ozone I would need to plug it into my Deltec MCE 600 HOB skimmer.

    Suggestions and drawbacks please!
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. ChrisRaubs

    ChrisRaubs

    Joined:
    30 Jun 2012
    Posts:
    892
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Pretoria
    Tagging...
     
  4. carlosdeandrade

    carlosdeandrade

    Joined:
    24 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    8,230
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    North Riding, Jozi
    Ozone is more demanding in terms of watching what it does, more equipement needed. UV, easier if you have the right flow characteristics, and proper uv light casing and flow per hour on what you want to dissinfect. O3 does not kill any apthogens or disease at levels we can run it.

    Also depends how water is circulated in your tank, UV needs to bypass a sump to highly effective.
     
  5. Mauritius-aquarist

    Mauritius-aquarist

    Joined:
    13 Dec 2009
    Posts:
    560
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    mauritius
    If ya using ozone, I would recommend you to install it's redox meter alongside. ;)
     
  6. Irma

    Irma Thread Starter

    Joined:
    9 Feb 2011
    Posts:
    440
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Midrand
    "Also depends how water is circulated in your tank, UV needs to bypass a sump to highly effective."

    Thanks Carlos - this would be perfect for my tank as there is no sump.
     
  7. MistaOrange

    MistaOrange

    Joined:
    20 Jan 2010
    Posts:
    7,756
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Somewhere in Cape Town
    Maybe I shouls hook up my uv again.
     
  8. MistaOrange

    MistaOrange

    Joined:
    20 Jan 2010
    Posts:
    7,756
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Somewhere in Cape Town
    Why bypass the sump? Surely I can feed from where the water enters the sump out by the skimmer!!!
     
  9. carlosdeandrade

    carlosdeandrade

    Joined:
    24 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    8,230
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    North Riding, Jozi
    @Irma, I am investigating for you, give me a few days, and I'll be able to get you some info on costing, you want to buy the right UV setup
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  10. carlosdeandrade

    carlosdeandrade

    Joined:
    24 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    8,230
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    North Riding, Jozi
    Sorry, I should've made myself clearer. Some sumps have a split feed where one pipe feeds the DT and the other the skimmer, there by circulating the water in the sump. You need to make sure no water is recirculated with in the UV unit as this will cause it to be less effective.
     
  11. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,142
    Likes Received:
    1,228
    Location:
    Centurion
    I prefer Ozone. Not sure if UV will help in the yellowness of the water.

    Anyway, UV globes do have a short lifespan. 3 months if not mistaken. The sleeve also gets dirty and needs maintenance. So you need to take unit apart every couple of months to service.

    Ozone with controller is a lot more expensive to set up. But its plug and play, or plug and forget about it.

    Another cheaper option is to run ozone on a timer for 1 hour in the morning and another in the evening.
     
  12. MistaOrange

    MistaOrange

    Joined:
    20 Jan 2010
    Posts:
    7,756
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Somewhere in Cape Town
    Gathered that so I can run it from the sumps infeed & the out feed of uv by the skimmer infeed right?
     
  13. Irma

    Irma Thread Starter

    Joined:
    9 Feb 2011
    Posts:
    440
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Midrand

    Thanks for your input!

    I have done a ton of research and I must admit that ozone scares me but I will do some more reading up on it.
     
  14. Irma

    Irma Thread Starter

    Joined:
    9 Feb 2011
    Posts:
    440
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Midrand
    Thanks Carlos - much appreciated!
     
  15. carlosdeandrade

    carlosdeandrade

    Joined:
    24 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    8,230
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    North Riding, Jozi
    Six to eight months. As for cleaner the units, it's normal maintenance.
    Ozone machines need to have their air dried, otherwise you can say goodbye to your machine within a year.
     
  16. carlosdeandrade

    carlosdeandrade

    Joined:
    24 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    8,230
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    North Riding, Jozi
    Perfecto!
     
  17. MistaOrange

    MistaOrange

    Joined:
    20 Jan 2010
    Posts:
    7,756
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Somewhere in Cape Town
    Must just get a nwe globe then will get it up & running
     
  18. Nemos Janitor

    Nemos Janitor

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    8,384
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Joe's Mountain
    A max of 50mg of Ozone is fine with the Deltec MCE600. You must remove the guardian air adjuster as it is not Ozone resistant.

    There are many myths regarding UV. Simply put. Do you want to treat the water going into the sump or the water exiting the sump?
     
  19. Irma

    Irma Thread Starter

    Joined:
    9 Feb 2011
    Posts:
    440
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Midrand
    I do not have a sump so I would like to treat the water in the DT.
     
  20. Nemos Janitor

    Nemos Janitor

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    8,384
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Joe's Mountain
    Ok let's exchange the word "Sump" for "Filter". Can that be achieved in both instances?
     
    Last edited: 27 Mar 2013
  21. Irma

    Irma Thread Starter

    Joined:
    9 Feb 2011
    Posts:
    440
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Midrand
    I do not have a filter, only a HOB skimmer.
    If I go for UV then the unit will be attached to the middle brace of the tank and the inlet and outlet pipes will go straight down into the DT. It will be totally seperate to the skimmer.
    If I go Ozone then it will be attached to the inlet air pipe of the Deltec HOB skimmer.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Ozone Sterilizer Forum Date
[wtd] Ozone Generator Wanted 21 Oct 2016
[wtd] Closed Ozone Generator Wanted 16 Oct 2016
[wtd] Ozone Generator Wanted 4 Oct 2016
[wtd] Looking for an Ozone Reactor Wanted 13 Oct 2015
Did you know that Ozone is 10x more effective than UV in water volume, for cryst... JungleAquatics.NET BLOG 14 Jun 2015
Ozone vs UV General Discussions and Advice 14 Jun 2015
Uv and ozone Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers 18 Nov 2014