Ozone - How is it done?

viper357

Admin
Reaction score
Hi everyone

I have been considering using ozone for many months now and after listening to Anthony Calfo this past weekend, I have finally decided to go ahead and do it, but I have no idea on how it all works so I would really appreciate any advice you can offer me.

My first few questions :wave2:

1. Does it have to run through a skimmer?

2. All I need is an Ozone Generator and an ORP controller, is that right?

3. Any particular makes or brands to be avoided?

4. My system volume is about 1400 litres. Do you get different sized generators?

Thanking you in advance.

from i understand it is best used through your skimmer, and over dosing is easy so be careful as not to wipe out your tank

Hi everyone

I have been considering using ozone for many months now and after listening to Anthony Calfo this past weekend, I have finally decided to go ahead and do it, but I have no idea on how it all works so I would really appreciate any advice you can offer me.

4. My system volume is about 1400 litres. Do you get different sized generators?

Thanking you in advance.

Never used one, but:

1. You will need some sort of reactor, a skimmer is ideal because you're already injecting air into the water and I believe ozone will improve skimming efficiency... on the other hand, you need to make sure that your skimmer and air feed lines are ozone resistant.

2. Depending on ventilation and location, might be a good idea to run skimmer air outlet through a carbon filter to absorb any excess O3 venting off. Also, from what I can remember, it is important to dry the air feeding the ozoniser, I think you get dehumidifying beads which you place in a small reactor before the ozoniser to improve efficiency.

3. Some of the hobby brands are apparently aweful... I think there are writings by Calfo to this effect. You might want to look around for an industrial model?