Overflow issues

Discussion in 'Anything DIY Related' started by Raven, 12 Mar 2015.

  1. Raven

    Raven

    Joined:
    4 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    873
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Alberton
    Hi,
    Decided to make a new thread.
    Ok so I've build an overflow as described in the youtube video from this thread:
    Overflow box wanted - Marine Aquariums South Africa

    like i've mentioned in the thread - the overflow works great for a day. Or part of a day...
    Then it just stops - I have to prime it again before it starts again...
    Any ideas on why/what cause it?
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. 459b

    459b Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    9,750
    Likes Received:
    789
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Can you post a pic of yours?
     
  4. Raven

    Raven Thread Starter

    Joined:
    4 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    873
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Alberton
    20150312_094713.jpg

    20150312_094730.jpg

    20150312_094748.jpg

    20150312_094713.jpg

    20150312_094730.jpg

    20150312_094748.jpg
     
  5. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,164
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    Centurion
    you are getting bubble into the pipe, and eventually its enough to break the siphon.

    get yourself on of these old style powerheads. 1500L/h or more.
    [​IMG]

    Permanently connect that airline you got to the powerhead. Use a black connection pipe, or shield the pipe from the lights. Do not want algae to block it up.

    That will pull out the bubbles as they enter.

    Problem solved.
     
  6. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,164
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    Centurion
    Downside is that it will push small micro bubbles into your system at times. Can be annoying, some say detrimental to your system. I see it as the leftovers of a wave going over the tank. :biggrin:
     
  7. Raven

    Raven Thread Starter

    Joined:
    4 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    873
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Alberton
    Ok - so I must connect the pipe that I use to prime to the powerhead?
    What about powerfailures?
    Will it still work after that?
     
  8. Raven

    Raven Thread Starter

    Joined:
    4 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    873
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Alberton
    Won't I need to prime it again?
     
  9. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,164
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    Centurion
    yes.
    After power failure it will start up automatically.

    Alternative, if siphon starts too late.
    You can set your return pump on a timer relay, 1 or 2 minutes after power came on, then start. That will give your siphon time to start up
     
  10. zippy

    zippy

    Joined:
    30 Nov 2014
    Posts:
    588
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Alberton
    please take a picture at 180 degrees on your last picture.
     
  11. Raven

    Raven Thread Starter

    Joined:
    4 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    873
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Alberton
    20150312_104959.jpg

    20150312_104959.jpg
     
  12. Raven

    Raven Thread Starter

    Joined:
    4 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    873
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Alberton
    20150312_105025.jpg

    20150312_105025.jpg
     
  13. Raven

    Raven Thread Starter

    Joined:
    4 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    873
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Alberton
    this is the best I can do, the wall is a bit in the way...
     
  14. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,990
    Likes Received:
    782
    I have/had a similar problem with my overflow box, every 2 or 3 days I would have to suck the air out of the top of it otherwise it would stop working. You can see the air bubble in this pic...

    [​IMG]

    What I have done in the meantime is extended the airline that comes out the top and have inserted the end of it into the tank so that it is submerged under the water, this seems to have weirdly stopped or at least, dramatically slowed down the air build up in the top. Although I am still looking into a better solution, this seems to have worked for now. I did a lot of reading up on this and apparently the biggest cause is too slow a flow through the overflow. In other words, need a bigger return pump. :(
     
  15. Raven

    Raven Thread Starter

    Joined:
    4 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    873
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Alberton
    I will try the powerhead solution & maybe get a bigger return pump...
    :)
     
  16. zippy

    zippy

    Joined:
    30 Nov 2014
    Posts:
    588
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Alberton
    thanks for the extra pic i was a little concerned that the last elbow possibly wasn't enough to cause sufficient water drag for the second bend from the overflow, tank side. As you have been advised it looks like there are water bubbles, micro ones that collect at the top loop, there is another way to solve this and it would be to put a pipe or drill a hole in the inlet pipe side of your return pump. This would avoid the need to purchase the pump that Riaan advised you to purchase. So instead of it blowing against the pipe causing a suction because of the angle of the pipe to the flow of the water you could just have the pipe close to your return pump impeller thus naturally sucking the bubble out and releasing the bubble that stops the siphon.
     
    Last edited: 12 Mar 2015
  17. GregK

    GregK

    Joined:
    23 Apr 2015
    Posts:
    115
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Fourways
    Hi
    I have the exact same setup and problems as you.
    What did you do to resolve your problems
     
  18. Raven

    Raven Thread Starter

    Joined:
    4 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    873
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Alberton
    I've extended the siphon to go into the tank.

    that works - BUT the problem is, is when you have a power failure. The little siphon pipe will continue to "suck" water - potentially overflowing the sump.
    But with backup power on the return pumps the solved the problem...

    I've also included a second return pump - increasing the volume of water going into the the overflow.
     
  19. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,164
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    Centurion
    With powerhead should be in the same tank the overflow is in. It will flood the sump eventually. Been there. Done that many moons ago.
     
  20. Martinf

    Martinf

    Joined:
    12 Aug 2014
    Posts:
    197
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Jhb
    @GregK

    I have used Reef Octopus Overflow Box if you interested ?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Overflow issues Forum Date
Overflow issues Anything DIY Related 3 Feb 2010
Overflowing skimmer Curve7 - 2 days Protein Skimmers, Mechanical Filtration Tuesday at 11:35
Overflow fitting help please Pumps and Waterflow 30 Nov 2016
Drilling and overflow HELP Beginner Discussions 21 Oct 2016
Can you make a algae scrubber in your overflow? Anything DIY Related 25 Sep 2016
[wtd] Overflow box Wanted 3 Aug 2016
Overflow cover up General Discussions and Advice 2 Aug 2016