Orphek diode change


Papitto

PatrickF
Joined
18 Feb 2014
Posts
876
Reaction score
96
Location
Durban north
Ola!

I have a question for Orphek users that know more technical info on their products...
I have a PR-156W (blues and whites), which i think is very old. I bought it off another reefer who had bought it off the original owner who is also a member. cant remember his name.
I'm only to assume that this unit was manufactured in 2010 if i'm correct, which is now +-6 years old.

I have a number of cree 3W diodes that I am wondering if possible to change the original diodes on the unit for these cree diodes. I know that the orphek diodes are under-run @ 2w, but not sure what the constant current (mVa) is.

Question is, is this possible to just swop out or is there considerations I need to make? Or do you think this unit is still fine?
 

hotdog83

Clone Fish
Moderator
Joined
28 May 2008
Posts
5,696
Reaction score
1,856
Location
Cresta, JHB
I would assume it will be fine to change them, especially if they only run at 2w. Some of the newer Cree 3w chips can run at 1Va I think, and don't think less of a current will be an issue, just less bright than at 1Va. To run at 2w I assume the current for that unit should be around 500mVa on a 12v input voltage? Do you have a multimeter to test it?
 

Papitto

PatrickF
Joined
18 Feb 2014
Posts
876
Reaction score
96
Location
Durban north
I would assume it will be fine to change them, especially if they only run at 2w. Some of the newer Cree 3w chips can run at 1Va I think, and don't think less of a current will be an issue, just less bright than at 1Va. To run at 2w I assume the current for that unit should be around 500mVa on a 12v input voltage? Do you have a multimeter to test it?
Yes I do have one, will open up and test current through each diode.
 

Papitto

PatrickF
Joined
18 Feb 2014
Posts
876
Reaction score
96
Location
Durban north
Forward curr
I would assume it will be fine to change them, especially if they only run at 2w. Some of the newer Cree 3w chips can run at 1Va I think, and don't think less of a current will be an issue, just less bright than at 1Va. To run at 2w I assume the current for that unit should be around 500mVa on a 12v input voltage? Do you have a multimeter to test it?
Forward current @500mVa
 
Joined
11 Jul 2015
Posts
233
Reaction score
72
Location
Vaalpark
current for that unit should be around 500mVa on a 12v input voltage
Would just like to find out what exactly is the mVa you guys are referring to.
Following this thread but a bit lost on just that...
 
Joined
7 May 2007
Posts
17,413
Reaction score
1,134
Location
Gonubie East London
you can mail orphek and ask.

safrica@orphek.com they will enquire from the manufacturer for you.
 
Joined
11 Jul 2015
Posts
233
Reaction score
72
Location
Vaalpark
Forward current measured in milli Volt-ampere i.e. mVa
Fwd current is measured in amps or mA. Never seen it expressed this way before. But as long as everybody is on the same page, you could call it bananas and still get the answers you need :slayer:.

Any measurements on the current on your existing setup yet?
Under correction here but I think most white/ blue Cree 3W LED's need 3.3 volts @ 700mA for maximum power.
If you have not done so already, you can measure forward current through the LEDs, this needs to be measured in series with any of the LEDs. And then you can measure the voltage across the whole string of LEDs and divide by the number of LEDs in that string. That will give you the voltage drop across each LED. Easy to decide on replacements if you have this info.

If you already know how to do this, sorry for my speech above :001_cool:
 
Last edited:

Papitto

PatrickF
Joined
18 Feb 2014
Posts
876
Reaction score
96
Location
Durban north
Fwd current is measured in amps or mA. Never seen it expressed this way before. But as long as everybody is on the same page, you could call it bananas and still get the answers you need :slayer:.

Any measurements on the current on your existing setup yet?
Under correction here but I think most white/ blue Cree 3W LED's need 3.3 volts @ 700mA for maximum power.
If you have not done so already, you can measure forward current through the LEDs, this needs to be measured in series with any of the LEDs. And then you can measure the voltage across the whole string of LEDs and divide by the number of LEDs in that string. That will give you the voltage drop across each LED. Easy to decide on replacements if you have this info.

If you already know how to do this, sorry for my speech above :001_cool:
Lol that just switched my lightbulb off.
I will mail Linda at Orphek and ask for advise
 
Joined
11 Jul 2015
Posts
233
Reaction score
72
Location
Vaalpark
Lol that just switched my lightbulb off.
I will mail Linda at Orphek and ask for advise
Sorry, didn't want to make things difficult for you. It's the only way to determine replacement LED's without having the specs of the original.
I will be back in South Africa in 2 weeks time. If you not sorted by then, PM me. I will try to help.
I don't live in Jhb, but in an out of Weltervreden Park and Helderkruin every so often. I can always detour a little...
 
Joined
21 Feb 2017
Posts
1
Reaction score
0
Curious,
Were you able to get any replacement leds?
I am looking to replace a few leds on my Orphek pr156
thanks
michael
 
Top Bottom