Organic aqua ?

Joined
18 Oct 2007
Posts
6,377
Reaction score
70
Location
capetown,durbanville
the b bac product, has anyone had any experience with it. is it as good as the container says?
 

jacquesb

Retired Moderator
Joined
29 May 2007
Posts
17,868
Reaction score
71
Location
Cape Town
Hi Limpet - I have used it in the past. BUT, I cannot say that it is any better than anything else that I have used.

I know the DarrenCon believes VERY strongly in Organic Aqua.....

Perhaps wait for him to comment, or perhaps PM him?
 
Joined
22 Jan 2008
Posts
12,223
Reaction score
162
Location
Lilliehammer, Norway
i work in Organic certification. Specialised in it and I will contact him and see what the product is, i have heard from others that it IS that good, but have not looked into it myself....yet
 
Joined
3 Sep 2007
Posts
147
Reaction score
0
Location
Randburg
crispin my tank runs on organic aqua (no sump or skimmer) but I use all 3 of their products together. The results speak for themselves.
 
Joined
22 Jan 2008
Posts
12,223
Reaction score
162
Location
Lilliehammer, Norway
shot jaques, that was a very interesting conversation, it will take a while to do a certification but sounds very interesting:)
 

jacquesb

Retired Moderator
Joined
29 May 2007
Posts
17,868
Reaction score
71
Location
Cape Town
Basically - my understanding of this stuff, is that it is some propriety bacteria strain/s that these people got to work. The Marine product contains iodine, I believe....

These bacteria strains were purposely bred, and theoretically would/should be able to populate a tank MUCH quicker than the "normal nitrification bacteria strains" that we get....

Please correct me if I am wrong here.

As Darren says, the three products should be used together to get the absolute best results...... AFAIK....
 
Joined
3 Sep 2007
Posts
147
Reaction score
0
Location
Randburg
you can stock a marine tank immediatly after the 3 products are added. I have done this myself twice.
 
Joined
18 Oct 2007
Posts
6,377
Reaction score
70
Location
capetown,durbanville
i am getting 20 kilos of liverock that is cured . i am collecting this evening, and was considering adding b bac although my tank has been running for about three weeks. was wondering if i should just let it complete cycle normally or give it a b bac kickstart.
 

Rory

Admin
Joined
5 May 2007
Posts
4,857
Reaction score
37
Location
JHB
I used b-bac on my cube tank because I urgently had to get a certain fish outta my nano... Parameters wise it certainly seemed to do the job as it was meant to, however I would still advise against stocking a tank immediately unless you're going to be doing some nice big water changes. The reason is that even after the nitrogen cycle (which b-bac effectively cuts out) there's still a bit of a cycle every tank goes through with certain types of algaes, different kinds of pods, etc etc. If you stock it a lot too quickly you are more likely to have problems down the line...
 
Joined
18 Oct 2007
Posts
6,377
Reaction score
70
Location
capetown,durbanville
ive been running the tank for three weeks now, and being doing intertank water changes now and again instead of doing external water changes , the normal 10 percent water changes that i would do on the nano. added b bac yesterday. but yes i hear what you say and i know i need to be careful
 

viper357

Admin
Joined
4 May 2007
Posts
29,883
Reaction score
1,404
I used b-bac on my cube tank because I urgently had to get a certain fish outta my nano... Parameters wise it certainly seemed to do the job as it was meant to, however I would still advise against stocking a tank immediately unless you're going to be doing some nice big water changes. The reason is that even after the nitrogen cycle (which b-bac effectively cuts out) there's still a bit of a cycle every tank goes through with certain types of algaes, different kinds of pods, etc etc. If you stock it a lot too quickly you are more likely to have problems down the line...
I agree wholeheartedly with Rory, I used the Organic Aqua when I transferred everything from my 5ft to my 2m tank as I had to do it within 2 days, I moved across about 16 fish....I lost 13.
 
Joined
18 Oct 2007
Posts
6,377
Reaction score
70
Location
capetown,durbanville
i hear what you are saying viper and im glad i chatted to you cos i was considering moving everything across from my nano this weekend, based on the affirmative comments earlier in the thread, but after hearing what happened to you , i am going to be more cautious, cos i dont want to lose any of my little chommies, thanks:thumbup:
 
Joined
5 Oct 2007
Posts
1,607
Reaction score
14
Location
Cape Town
Code:
I agree wholeheartedly with Rory, I used the Organic Aqua when I transferred everything from my 5ft to my 2m tank as I had to do it within 2 days, I moved across about 16 fish....I lost 13.
Murderer!!!!!!!!!!!!! I use Seachem Stability for adding good bacteria fast, they can out compete the Diatoms as well.
 

Rod

Joined
18 May 2007
Posts
329
Reaction score
2
Location
Krugersdorp Gauteng
OrganicAqua

I have posted on this in another forum, if I am out of line posting a link to my post there i am sure the Mods will delete it!
Login
This is my experience to date.
 
Joined
28 Dec 2007
Posts
12,781
Reaction score
31
Location
JHB
I have posted on this in another forum, if I am out of line posting a link to my post there i am sure the Mods will delete it!
Login
This is my experience to date.
Your link goes to a login page, can't see any info
 
Joined
18 Oct 2007
Posts
6,377
Reaction score
70
Location
capetown,durbanville
Code:
Murderer!!!!!!!!!!!!! I use Seachem Stability for adding good bacteria fast, they can out compete the Diatoms as well.
. thanks for the advice alfie, ps your frags will be going into the new setup, your kenya tree will have much more space to grow.:thumbup:
 

Similar threads


Top