Orca Phospha-Guard

Discussion in 'Orca Labs' started by LCornelius, 29 Dec 2012.

  1. LCornelius

    LCornelius Moderator

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Durbanville (CPT)
    Hi all,

    Need some urgent help.

    I have never used this product, I read the instructions and it states you should rinse it in RO. Cool, no problem. Open the bottle and it looks like a fine sand!
    Is this normal? I added RO to the container and after rinsing it 5 times, still allot of brown water that I pour out!

    Should I just add it to my reactor?
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. carlosdeandrade

    carlosdeandrade

    Joined:
    24 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    8,230
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    North Riding, Jozi
    You will need a very fine stocking to not lose the granules. It took a while for mine to clear up the brown water, just make sure you are not losing the actual product.
     
  4. LCornelius

    LCornelius Thread Starter Moderator

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Durbanville (CPT)
    Thanks Carlos, tried to use one of the bags from the Orca cubes, but not going to work! Will continue to rinse rinse rinse!
     
  5. carlosdeandrade

    carlosdeandrade

    Joined:
    24 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    8,230
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    North Riding, Jozi
  6. butcherman

    butcherman Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 Sep 2009
    Posts:
    11,626
    Likes Received:
    280
    Location:
    Kempton Park
    you need a micromesh bag or a reactor
     
  7. LCornelius

    LCornelius Thread Starter Moderator

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Durbanville (CPT)

    Jip have a reef octopus phr140. Just need to wash a bit more.
    Should I rinse till the water is clear?
     
  8. LCornelius

    LCornelius Thread Starter Moderator

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Durbanville (CPT)
    How did you guys rinse yours?
     
  9. Rossi

    Rossi

    Joined:
    5 Feb 2012
    Posts:
    622
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Rowaphos also washed in RO water till clear, don't want whole tank to go brown!
     
  10. LCornelius

    LCornelius Thread Starter Moderator

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Durbanville (CPT)
    Ok, just spent the last 5 hours rinsing the goods! I have used 25L of RO. The color has gone from deep red to a tea color! Will get more RO tomorrow, I cant feel my arms!

    The label should be changed from rinse to heavy wash! Hope this is worth it, not looking forward in repeating this in 6 months time!
     
  11. irie ivan

    irie ivan MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    3,149
    Likes Received:
    171
    Location:
    Bracken
    My best way of rinsing it is to take approximately 10L of RO in a bucket. Place reactor feed pump in bucket and reactor outlet in toilet. Rinse at same tempo as you would fluidise in aquarium, i.e. very light movement... Run until it runs clear, usually within the first few litres.
    Must admit, its the one thing about GFH which annoys me endlessly, whether it be rowaphos or phosphaguard.
    But hey, we have to make do with what is available.

    In saying that, and I am probably out of line here, but I have heard from an extremely reliable source that A company is working on something to solve this once and for all... Its still very early days of development, but my understanding is that its similar to what the orca titanium cubes achieve for NO3, albeit for PO4. Biological removal of PO4....
    How long have I been hinting at someine to develop something like that...
    Probably wont get released for quite some time, so guess its rinse rinse rinse for a few more months. If it gets released, hope its gonna be available in SA!!
    At least with the recycle product, there is no powder that needs rinsing away when you recharge the gfh.
     
  12. Nemos Janitor

    Nemos Janitor

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    8,384
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Joe's Mountain
    WOW ......

    I am sure you have waisted a huge amount of effort. Phospha-Guard is very similar to all the other GFO's. I never wash the GFO, i simply fluidise and let about 2 L's flow through to waist, which is when the water starts to run like very week tea in color.

    I run the return from the fluidised reactor into the filter sock on my return. This prevents any mishaps of GFO entering the DT.
     
  13. LCornelius

    LCornelius Thread Starter Moderator

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Durbanville (CPT)
    @irie ivan thanks for the tip! My first time using a GFO.
    I was just scared of waisting my sponge in the reactor! Will use your method tomorrow!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  14. LCornelius

    LCornelius Thread Starter Moderator

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Durbanville (CPT)
    @Nemos Janitor thanks, apparently I did waist allot of effort!
    At least others will learn from this thread, as I did!

    Thanks gents, thanks given!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  15. LCornelius

    LCornelius Thread Starter Moderator

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Durbanville (CPT)
    Back from holiday and decided to fire up the phos reactor.
    @KillerWhale

    What a waist of time and money.

    After spending all that time washing the product I decided to run it through the phos reactor into the toilet to get the water clean.

    The media is so fine that it went through my Reef Octopus PHR reactor sponge and down the toilet! :cursing:

    I'm pissed off beyond believe!

    So tomorrow going to buy some Rowa Phos.

    PS. your diamond carbon works like a charm in the same reactor!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  16. Express Reef

    Express Reef

    Joined:
    12 Aug 2011
    Posts:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    92
    Location:
    Vanderbijlpark
    Boet I used this product with gr8t results, it was so potent that I needed to remove the reactor after two week due to my bio cubes not working without po4.... thing the flow you have put thru it was to gr8t or the sponge was not right, I used the phosbane reactor with no problem there
     
  17. LCornelius

    LCornelius Thread Starter Moderator

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Durbanville (CPT)
    Thanks!
    Just think one should use this product in a mesh bag within reactor!
    Pity the product don't come with a bag in the bottle!
     
  18. irie ivan

    irie ivan MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    3,149
    Likes Received:
    171
    Location:
    Bracken
    Mesh bag will reduce effeciency. Your flow was too high or your reactor too full. Fluidising should only be a very light movement.
    Have you used rowa before? Very little difference between the two in terms of grain size, so you will end up with quite a bit of rowa down the tubes too.
    Trust me i share your frustrations! Up to now, our only choice for chemical po4 removal has been rust products or the al based stuff like seachem phoguard.
    As mentioned before, I heard from a reliable source there is a company which has just completed testing a biological po4 remover and is releasing a beta version to hobbyists to test soon...
     
  19. carlosdeandrade

    carlosdeandrade

    Joined:
    24 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    8,230
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    North Riding, Jozi
    So agree with Ivan on this, like I said it's a schlep. Wait until you have to recharge it! hehehehehehe.
     
  20. ChrisRaubs

    ChrisRaubs

    Joined:
    30 Jun 2012
    Posts:
    892
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Pretoria
    Quick question @KillerWhale @irie ivan

    Can one run the diamond carbon and phospha guard in the same reactor?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  21. irie ivan

    irie ivan MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    3,149
    Likes Received:
    171
    Location:
    Bracken
    I would not advise it. Can be done though, but not adviseable. the two products will most likely run out of their useful lifespan at different stages.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Orca Phospha Guard Forum Date
Orca phospha-guard Chemical Filtration / Low Nutrient Systems - LNS 19 Sep 2014
ORCA PhosphaGuard and ReCycle Jungle Aquatics 8 Oct 2012
ORCA Phosphaguad Dark Ice & Res-Q-Med ► Sponsor Request Forum 23 Jun 2016
ORCA In Stock Pet Lovers Emporium 14 Nov 2016
Orca cube salt spray reactor Anything DIY Related 1 Apr 2016
Orca Labs Res-q-med Quarantine Tanks, sick fish, QT corals 7 Sep 2015
Have you tried ORCA Bio Cubes and Titanium yet? Share your review on our product... JungleAquatics.NET BLOG 7 Jun 2015