Orca bio cubes or NP reactor?

Discussion in 'Nuisance Algae' started by mahi-mahi, 11 Sep 2013.

  1. mahi-mahi

    mahi-mahi

    Joined:
    24 Nov 2012
    Posts:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    middelburg mpumalanga
    Hi everyone, just need some advise, I've been struggeling with algae for a month or 2, I did run orca bio cubes( platinum) for about 5 months the bomb method! And had my algae under control. A had a outbreak of WS and took all my fish out. My tank has been running 6 weeks now without any fish, just my corals and 2 shrimp are in the tank. So my algae problem can't be because off overfeeding, now I'm considering putting in a media reactor with np pellets, to get my nitrates and phosphates down. Or should I stick to orca? Maybe orca in a reactor? I did add a coral grow T5 globe to my light unit about 5 weeks back could that be the cause of the algae? Want to sort out the algae problem before I add fish again! Or maybe is my problem because there are no fish in my system so nothing is eating the algae? Got mostly bubble algae and green hair algae. Any input would be help thanks!!
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. the fish

    the fish

    Joined:
    23 May 2012
    Posts:
    2,074
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Florida Hills Jhb
    you have to replace the cubes every 6 to 7 months. check your parameters first though. if your Phosphates and NO3 has started creeping up again then it is time to replace it.
     
  4. mariusmeyer

    mariusmeyer

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    3,054
    Likes Received:
    210
    Location:
    Jukskei Park, JHB
    You don't replace the bio cubes, you add more when needed. The cubes will slowly get eaten by the bacteria from my understanding and that is why the volume decreases. I have been running cubes for 10 months and have not once had the need to add more. Don't run the cubes in a reactor. I had to restart my cubes 3 times due to pumps failing or clogging up and flow stopping.
     
    carlosdeandrade likes this.
  5. Zandy

    Zandy

    Joined:
    10 Oct 2012
    Posts:
    2,504
    Likes Received:
    10
    As i have mentioned before , running Orca in a reactor is not as effective as running it the bomb method. Th NP reactor will not assist in the algae problem. What other CUC do you have in your tank? I would also look at ways to increase the gas exchange in the tank. Orca needs to be "topped up" every couple of months. Try to add some sort of bacteria eg. Prodibio to help increase the bacterial population to assist with the absorbtion of the algae. Good habestry and regular water changes will also benefit the tank.
     
  6. mahi-mahi

    mahi-mahi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    24 Nov 2012
    Posts:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    middelburg mpumalanga
    What I don't like about the bomb method is that like we all know tangs are messy eaters and some uneaten food does make it into the orca cubes. Isn't it then better to run orca in a reactor?
     
  7. Express Reef

    Express Reef

    Joined:
    12 Aug 2011
    Posts:
    2,575
    Likes Received:
    92
    Location:
    Vanderbijlpark
    Cubes dont break down food... it break down no3 & Po4... uneaten food must be skimmed out via skimmer...
     
  8. Zandy

    Zandy

    Joined:
    10 Oct 2012
    Posts:
    2,504
    Likes Received:
    10
    Running the bio cubes in a reactor will break them apart that they become in effective becuase of the shaking around. I would suggest that you find a "filter" system just before the orca in order to trap most of the bigger uneaten food before it reach the Orca. Orca has and will always be effective as long as you follow the directions as indicated. The fact that you have increased phosphate and nitrate would suggest that the time has arrived where you should be adding an additional bottle or biocubes together with the ones you currently have.
     
  9. mahi-mahi

    mahi-mahi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    24 Nov 2012
    Posts:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    middelburg mpumalanga
    No CUC zandy, how do I prefilter the water before it goes through the orca?
     
  10. the fish

    the fish

    Joined:
    23 May 2012
    Posts:
    2,074
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Florida Hills Jhb
    get a filter sock and connect it to the inlet pipe to your sump
     
  11. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,769
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    use a filter sock
     
  12. 3dd

    3dd

    Joined:
    29 Mar 2011
    Posts:
    409
    Likes Received:
    29
    You can use a filter sock, add the sock where you overflow drains into the sump.

    This does stop allot of detritus going into the sump, but alas it won't stop everything.
     
  13. Zandy

    Zandy

    Joined:
    10 Oct 2012
    Posts:
    2,504
    Likes Received:
    10
    I will bbm you a photo shortly regarding the pre-filter i use. The CUC is a crucial part of any marine system. You should get some mexican turbo snails ect that will assist in the cleaning up of your tank. Some crabs will also be usefull. A normal filter sock over the inlet will also trap the bigger pieces of dirt prior to the skimming process
     
  14. carlosdeandrade

    carlosdeandrade

    Joined:
    24 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    8,230
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    North Riding, Jozi
    @mahi-mahi, you will have the same problem with a np pellets, there will always be some detritus entering the reactor. At least with the bomb method, the air stone will agitate the bag which should leave it free of detritus. I have run NP pellets before, I found them to be tedious, my flow was never correct and I needed to make sure that there was also agitation of the pellets.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  15. 3dd

    3dd

    Joined:
    29 Mar 2011
    Posts:
    409
    Likes Received:
    29
    A bit quicker than I was on the typing there Dallas :lol:
     
  16. mahi-mahi

    mahi-mahi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    24 Nov 2012
    Posts:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    middelburg mpumalanga
    So I should put n filter sock over my overflow pipe? And then the orca over the filter sock?
     
  17. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,769
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    the cubes shouldnt be near or in a filter sock, they come with their own bag. just prefilter the water and leave the cubes in the bag in the sump.

    yes you can add a filter sock over the drain pipe
     
  18. mahi-mahi

    mahi-mahi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    24 Nov 2012
    Posts:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    middelburg mpumalanga
    Thanks for the help everyone
     
  19. Zandy

    Zandy

    Joined:
    10 Oct 2012
    Posts:
    2,504
    Likes Received:
    10
    Pleasure now go out and get some CUC !!!! (Clean up crew)
     
  20. mahi-mahi

    mahi-mahi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    24 Nov 2012
    Posts:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    middelburg mpumalanga
    Lol this is middelburg if I ask the shops here for a CUC they're gonna give me a pleggo and fresh water snails!!!!
     
  21. carlosdeandrade

    carlosdeandrade

    Joined:
    24 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    8,230
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    North Riding, Jozi
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Orca cubes reactor Forum Date
Have you tried ORCA Bio Cubes and Titanium yet? Share your review on our product... JungleAquatics.NET BLOG 7 Jun 2015
Help with Orca nitra quard cubes Chemical Filtration / Low Nutrient Systems - LNS 28 May 2015
Orca nitra bio cubes General Discussions and Advice 10 May 2015
orca bio cubes Water Parameters and Additives 24 Jan 2015
Orca bio cubes General Discussions and Advice 23 Dec 2014
Orca bio cubes Biological/Natural Filtration and Deep Sand Beds 4 Sep 2014
[wtd] Orca Bio-cubes Cape Town Wanted 24 Jun 2014