Opinion on the Red Sea Max tanks

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by Rkieser, 17 Jun 2011.

1. Rkieser

Rkieser

Hi

I am extremely new to the hobby and have been doing a bit of research on tanks, just to gauge pricing. I came across the Red Sea Max 250 tank and was wondering if this is a good direction to go in, i.e. if its a good tank or setup?

Sorry if this sounds like a stupid question.

Thanks
    Ryan

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. ThaneF

ThaneF

Hi Ryan,

I have the little brother of the 250, the 130D and I love the tank (sure, i have done a few upgrades). I have seen a lot of 250's and they always look great... a good piece of tech if you ask me.

4. Reef Maniac

Reef Maniac MASA Contributor

There's no such thing - only stupid answers...

Personally, I would rather build up a system myself - it is generally cheaper, and one can ensure that everything works as it should (getting the exact lights that you want, having the water movement as strong as you want, etc.). I'm not saying the Red Sea is a bad buy, just that IMHO DIY will be better and cheaper :whistling:

Hennie

5. viper357

viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

I'm with Hennie, DIY is always better as you get exactly what you want, although having said that, I have seen quite a few RSM250 tanks and they are really nice tanks, they cost a small fortune but if you can afford it I wouldn't hesitate in recommending one of these for a marine setup. One thing I have noticed in the tanks that I have seen, is that if you live in a particularly warm house then you may need to look at purchasing a chiller, the built-in cooling fans are good but sometimes are not enough on really hot days.

Do shop around though, I notice you are in Cape Town, have you had a look at the Oceanson tanks? I haven't seen them myself but they look like quite nice setups - aquariums - Marine Aquariums of South Africa

6. lIghty

lIghty

Depend on what you want?