Operating cost?

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by AdrianTregoning, 19 Dec 2011.

1. AdrianTregoning

AdrianTregoning

Good Day,

After too many years of not having an aquarium I’m thinking of firing one up again, almost definitely a reef tank. I have zero experience with salt water tanks. My last tank was a Malawian cichlid setup.

My question is, and I know this is almost a ‘how long is a piece of string question’, but: What are the monthly expenses typically associated with a fish only setup? And with a tank full of live rock, inverts etc? I plan to build an 800 litre tank, volume excluding the sump. I will design and build everything myself, probably the tank too.

Also, what would you estimate the power usage of a tank like this to consume? I’ve just sold most of my life to the bank and am considering going all the way now to complete the mission of slavery :) Seems the logical thing to do. I know the people here are super helpful and experienced, so any advice would be greatly appreciated :)

Thanks,
    Adrian

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Annoying

Annoying

That really is a "how long is a piece of string" question, haha. We will need more info. Like if you want to go reef what type of reef , softies, sps mixed etc. This will let us be able to guess the hardware and supplements you will be needing.

4. AdrianTregoning

AdrianTregoning Thread Starter

To be honest I haven't given it that much thought, yet. But was just wanting some ball park figures to begin with. :whistling: I know, the piece of string could vary a lot in length...

5. dallasg

dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

on best guess, between R200-R500
    all depends on lights, pumps used, husbandry regime etc

6. belindamotion

belindamotion Google Master

OH WOW...for a Newbie like me sitting with a 58L Nano, you question sounds overwhelming..:lol: Ok...Salt...you get say 20kg Salt at R600...or 20kg at R1100...depends on what you buy....