On the rocks?

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by marine101, 8 Dec 2008.

1. marine101

marine101

Ive been using ice for the past 3 years to cool my tanks. It doesn get very hot, maximum of 28.9 and then 5Kg ice brings it down by 1.5 degrees. Tank is 650 litre. Anyone else use ice?

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. keyaam

keyaam

Did you try a fan yet?

4. marine101

marine101 Thread Starter

Yeah yeah. My tank is very green, practically runs on fumes. Very efficient, minimal impeller pumps, remove ballasts, fans, ventilation etc. Only on very very hot days will it reach a high 28. Am i the only one though using ice? Lol

5. marine101

marine101 Thread Starter

Remote not remove ballast, but wish i could

6. Reef Maniac

Reef Maniac MASA Contributor

Many years ago when I just started I used to use ice. What I did was to remove a few liters of tank water, and then made half-liter sized "ice cubes" by freezing the tank water in small jugs. I then placed the ice in the sump when temperatures reached dangerous levels (+29°C), and it worked quite well - only problem was, somebody had to be at home to do this, as the tank usually reached it's highest temperature during the afternoons while I was still at work... enter long suffering wife and kids :whistling:

Hennie

Last edited: 9 Dec 2008
  7. HenkHugo

HenkHugo

a chiller is one of the best investments one can make for you tank.... it takes a lot of worry out of keeping marines

8. Reef Maniac

Reef Maniac MASA Contributor

Totally agreed :thumbup:

9. Tobes

Tobes Retired Moderator