old newbie

Reaction score
Hi guys, back after a year I think. But now with a sw nano. Feels good to be back. Let's say I'm a newbie. So I bought a boyu t550. Any advice on the tank before is start it up

welcome back @cameron

How original is the TL550? With LED hood or T5 PL tubes?

Welcome back Cameron,

On the TL550 there are broadly speaking 3 things to observe:

1. Lighting - PL tubes vs LED. There are some nice LED units which would fit the TL550 canopy with a bit of DIY.

2. Filtration : Back compartments may need some modification to allow for improved flow. You may also want to consider running with some LR in the back compartments. Skimmer quality is not great, so would also be good to consider upgrading the on-board skimmer.

3. Flow. The standard on-board equipment for the TL550 is woefully inadequate IMO insofar flow is concerned. You may want to consider upgrading the return pump and adding 2-3 pumps in the display which provide 1000-1500 l/hr flow .

Looking forward to your updates.:m03:

Thanks guys for advice so far. Is there a skimmer on the market that would fit the tank. And what leds would go. Think tank comes with moonlight leds and some t5s. Before I start I would like the polish the Glass, as it has many scraches from previous owner. Any tips on this. Durban guys any help on places were this can be done

Not sure where to get cerium oxide but this might work if you can get hold of some...

Last edited by a moderator:
Thanks guys for advice so far. Is there a skimmer on the market that would fit the tank. And what leds would go. Think tank comes with moonlight leds and some t5s. Before I start I would like the polish the Glass, as it has many scraches from previous owner. Any tips on this. Durban guys any help on places were this can be done