Oasis ro3

Discussion in 'Water Parameters and Additives' started by Mc, 5 Aug 2011.

  1. Mc

    Mc

    Joined:
    8 Jun 2011
    Posts:
    2,650
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Benoni
    So my tanks been running for about 2 months, and I've been using water from the local Oasis water shop. I was recently told this is'nt good not sure why.
    As I under stand this water not only goes through RO process but also through ozone treatment. I have tested the water for the following.

    phosphates=0
    nitrates=0
    nitrites=0
    ammonia=0
    copper=0
    alkalinity=very low too low for my test to even get a proper reading.
    pH=gives false reading due to low alk and therefore having no buffering capacity.

    So far I haven't had any problems with the tank other then a bit of Hair algae, and diatoms, that I figured is normal. Specially in a new tank.

    I was wondering if anyone else uses this water and if anyone has had any problems with it.
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. FransSny

    FransSny

    Joined:
    16 Oct 2008
    Posts:
    5,697
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Hermanus
    I use it as well...no issues, I had have tested the TDS and was Zero. @charlStanhope , you also using it I know
     
    Last edited: 5 Aug 2011
  4. Mc

    Mc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    8 Jun 2011
    Posts:
    2,650
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Benoni
    Thanks Frans.

    Thats what I thought just haven't had a Tds meter.
     
  5. Evo R

    Evo R

    Joined:
    8 Dec 2009
    Posts:
    1,730
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Mosselbay
    The shop next to me is Oasis. I have been useing there water now foe say 16 to 17 months with no problems.
     
  6. Mc

    Mc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    8 Jun 2011
    Posts:
    2,650
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Benoni
    Thanks Evo at least I know im not the only one.
     
  7. Jeann1

    Jeann1

    Joined:
    21 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    830
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Witbank - Mpumalanga
    Same here, since i started the tank been using it.
     
  8. Mc

    Mc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    8 Jun 2011
    Posts:
    2,650
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Benoni
    All is good then it seems to be safe.
     
  9. reef addict

    reef addict

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2013
    Posts:
    593
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Gonubie East London
    I am also using Oasis water and have red algea problems. I noticed on their lables a TdS reading of 20 is this possible?
     
  10. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,163
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    Centurion
    yeah, and higher.
    Depending on when last they did replace their filters.
     
  11. Reefhead

    Reefhead

    Joined:
    28 Jun 2011
    Posts:
    953
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Westrand
    As far as I know Oasis water should be re-mineralised, so the TDS could easily be between 20 and 50
    Could be wrong though but if they sell it for human consumption it would be pretty useless if it was pure RO water with a TDS of 0
     
  12. Mc

    Mc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    8 Jun 2011
    Posts:
    2,650
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Benoni
    You may be surprised by that, some of these shops sell 0 TDS water intended for drinking.
    Not bad for us.
    I used the oasis water a long time without any issues.
     
  13. the fish

    the fish

    Joined:
    23 May 2012
    Posts:
    2,074
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Florida Hills Jhb
    i drink RO water straight from the unit. havent died yet lol.
     
  14. Mc

    Mc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    8 Jun 2011
    Posts:
    2,650
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Benoni
    Will never kill you just has no minerals in it.
    The Ro unit take all the good stuff out the water, as well as the bad stuff.
     
  15. the fish

    the fish

    Joined:
    23 May 2012
    Posts:
    2,074
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Florida Hills Jhb
    that i know. but it tastes so much better than tab water or even bottled water.
     
  16. Mc

    Mc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    8 Jun 2011
    Posts:
    2,650
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Benoni
    Have you tried the water from the second outlet pipe?
     
  17. Reefhead

    Reefhead

    Joined:
    28 Jun 2011
    Posts:
    953
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Westrand
    Its by no means bad for you but its not really good for you either
    So in a sense it might be "bad" for you as you are drinking water which serves very little purpose in your body except for hydration.
    So you not getting any minerals which your body needs which is a big reason why you need water as it is not only for hydration but also to get in minerals, etc.
    So like I said not bad for you but pretty useless in terms of "nutritional" value
     
Recent Posts