Nog a Q

Wetty

Tuned by Tunze, turboed by Red Sea
Joined
17 Jul 2008
Posts
539
Reaction score
3
Location
Alberton ,Johannesburg
So this afternoon after work my Tanks going in to Hellenic Glass Works in Benoni to be drilled.

After that im building my overflow. 2cm from the top...is there a std size of dims that the overflow must be...or is it how u personally want it. Also can i use Perspex instead of glass?
 

viper357

Admin
Joined
4 May 2007
Posts
29,894
Reaction score
1,412
Are you having a Coast to Coast overflow or just an overflow box?
 
Joined
20 Jan 2008
Posts
241
Reaction score
0
no there really isnt a std dimension but obviosly you dont want it to small or to big coz u loose tank space...also make sure abt ur 2cm...check exactly where ur water level is before installing it or youll have trouble later...and perspex is fine no problem in that....just cover it in black..theres someting you get for this..not sure what its called...
 

Wetty

Tuned by Tunze, turboed by Red Sea
Joined
17 Jul 2008
Posts
539
Reaction score
3
Location
Alberton ,Johannesburg
no there really isnt a std dimension but obviosly you dont want it to small or to big coz u loose tank space...also make sure abt ur 2cm...check exactly where ur water level is before installing it or youll have trouble later...and perspex is fine no problem in that....just cover it in black..theres someting you get for this..not sure what its called...
The tank is 3ft x 490 x 490. Gona go with 2cm from top overflow level. Having two 32mm holes drilled this afternoon.

any ideas?
 

Wetty

Tuned by Tunze, turboed by Red Sea
Joined
17 Jul 2008
Posts
539
Reaction score
3
Location
Alberton ,Johannesburg
it's called ABS sheeting or if you have money to spend use perspex
im not too worried about the looks of the overflow...but maybe black would work to conceal the uglies. lol
 

viper357

Admin
Joined
4 May 2007
Posts
29,894
Reaction score
1,412
I'm assuming the overflow is going to be inside the tank? Make sure it is big enough to fit a durso standpipe in there. And also big enough to get your hands in there should any fish or snails or hermits end up in there.
 

Wetty

Tuned by Tunze, turboed by Red Sea
Joined
17 Jul 2008
Posts
539
Reaction score
3
Location
Alberton ,Johannesburg
Explain Coast to Coast overflow for me pls?
 

Wetty

Tuned by Tunze, turboed by Red Sea
Joined
17 Jul 2008
Posts
539
Reaction score
3
Location
Alberton ,Johannesburg
I'm assuming the overflow is going to be inside the tank? Make sure it is big enough to fit a durso standpipe in there. And also big enough to get your hands in there should any fish or snails or hermits end up in there.
Yes..inside. Wots a Durso Standpipe?
 

viper357

Admin
Joined
4 May 2007
Posts
29,894
Reaction score
1,412
Explain Coast to Coast overflow for me pls?
Instead of having a box in the corner of the tank, you run a piece of glass along the entire length of the back of your tank or along the side of your tank, the glass sits at an angle near the top of the aquarium, you could also make it a box shape if you want.
 

Wetty

Tuned by Tunze, turboed by Red Sea
Joined
17 Jul 2008
Posts
539
Reaction score
3
Location
Alberton ,Johannesburg
Instead of having a box in the corner of the tank, you run a piece of glass along the entire length of the back of your tank or along the side of your tank, the glass sits at an angle near the top of the aquarium, you could also make it a box shape if you want.
Will that affect my water displacement much? My tanks dims works out to bout 216 litres in volume....thats barely over 57 (us) gallons.
 

jacquesb

Retired Moderator
Joined
29 May 2007
Posts
17,868
Reaction score
71
Location
Cape Town
Wetty - the C2C (coast2coast) will have less of an impact on your tank water volume, than that of a corner overflow. Do you understand the concept of the coast2coast?
It is literally just a piece of glass that has been siliconed in, RIGHT at the top, and JUST below where you want to have your water level. This strip of glass runs ALL the way from left of your tank, to right of your tank, on the rear pane of your tank's glass.... This glass strip for the overflow (C2C) is then siliconed in at an angle, when you view the C2C then from either left or right side of the tank, the shape it makes with your rear tank glass pane, is a V.....This glass strip should be wide enough to be siliconed BELOW the holes you are having drilled, and also cover the holes as well.... BUT not too wide that the water level is at or above your bracing...
 

Wetty

Tuned by Tunze, turboed by Red Sea
Joined
17 Jul 2008
Posts
539
Reaction score
3
Location
Alberton ,Johannesburg
Wetty - the C2C (coast2coast) will have less of an impact on your tank water volume, than that of a corner overflow. Do you understand the concept of the coast2coast?
It is literally just a piece of glass that has been siliconed in, RIGHT at the top, and JUST below where you want to have your water level. This strip of glass runs ALL the way from left of your tank, to right of your tank, on the rear pane of your tank's glass.... This glass strip for the overflow (C2C) is then siliconed in at an angle, when you view the C2C then from either left or right side of the tank, the shape it makes with your rear tank glass pane, is a V.....This glass strip should be wide enough to be siliconed BELOW the holes you are having drilled, and also cover the holes as well.... BUT not too wide that the water level is at or above your bracing...
I see now. I think ill go with the plain overflow at this stage....and a C2C when I get a bigger tank.
 

viper357

Admin
Joined
4 May 2007
Posts
29,894
Reaction score
1,412
Thanks for the better explanation Jacques.

Nothing wrong with a plain overflow Wetty, they work just as well. Be careful if you use perspex as I think you may need a special type of glue for it to stick to glass.
 

Wetty

Tuned by Tunze, turboed by Red Sea
Joined
17 Jul 2008
Posts
539
Reaction score
3
Location
Alberton ,Johannesburg
Yeah iv been told that. But I bought a piece to play with...and iv got sum glass laying around. So either way i mite make it happen.

Had my tank drilled two 25mm holes ( biggest size they had ).
 

Top