No Filtration No Skimmer

Joined
24 May 2007
Posts
11,995
Reaction score
126
Location
North of Durban and South of Mozambique
Do not know if this thread is started under the right forum, but the mods can (hopefully ) help if I am in the wrong.
This is something I have been meaning to ask for some time as I have only seen 02 Tanks of this natuere in Person.
Is there anyone else that knows of other setups that run without a Sump (Cannister Filters Included) and without a Protein Skimmer???? And I am talking about marine setups with Fish and softies.And I am not talking about a daily waterchange setup. Purely on Natusral Bacteria, etc.

2nd Question. How is it Possible????

Please join in as I really think it is very legitimate questions....
 

Alan

Admin
Joined
4 May 2007
Posts
5,974
Reaction score
123
Location
KZN
The live rock is the filter bed, you can run a tank like this but there are rules to stocking levels. I really wouldn't run a tank sumpless because of the oily film that develops on the water surface. Here is a pic of a system that ran with out a sump, canister filter only had a hang on skimmer. It also has no halides only T5 tubes. So yes low tech systems are possible.

Sorry seem to be having problems with photobucket, will load later
 

Muz

Joined
7 May 2007
Posts
914
Reaction score
7
This interests me cos I have a QT tank that was an old FW system and I am not keen to convert the whole thing, I have a really big , really old cannister filter so please continue.

( F^#k) I hate photobucket when the USA is awake.. you can wait your ass off.. patience my man.. patience.

Muz
 

Mekaeel

Moderator
Joined
8 May 2007
Posts
24,226
Reaction score
129
Location
Point Waterfront Durban
i ran a 4ft,heavily stocked with fish before upgrading with 26 fish in it and some softies just on 2 canisters,but to remove the oily surface,used a via aqua hang on skimmer,and it allows surface skimming.if you dont wana use a skimmer,run a hang on aqua h2o filter,worked well for me(by the way the hangon filter was on another tank)
 
Joined
24 May 2007
Posts
11,995
Reaction score
126
Location
North of Durban and South of Mozambique
Did read it. Thank you. it helps a lot. Has anyone seen a setup without the sump and skimmer in person??????
 
Joined
7 May 2007
Posts
842
Reaction score
3
Location
Jo'kwane
Sean its actually very easy to run a system without a sump or skimmer. I have 2 38L nano's and neither of them has a sump or a skimmer. The solution is large amount of LR (about 15kg in each) low bioload and bi weekly water changes. I change about 6L per change one on Sunday and then again one on Thursday.
 

Galibore

Retired Moderator
Joined
6 May 2007
Posts
2,828
Reaction score
19
Location
Germiston
Well, My Weipro is running with a needle wheel feed pump. Pretty much the same as the TS1 would run. So stability is not really the problem. I just want to make sure I get the best possible skimming for the space limitations that I have as I want to keep SPS. But thanks for the reassurance. Will probably get my TS1 this week still.
 
Joined
7 May 2007
Posts
485
Reaction score
4
Location
Capital of India
I have ran tanks like this before with softies (no not smithers) and fish.

When i did my waterchanges, i used a bucket to skim the water off the surface. Like Alan said, you will have an oily film on the surface, as well as floating moths etc that drown while trying to get to the light.

It is possible, but only when there is absolutely no way of attaching a sump of sorts.
 

Galibore

Retired Moderator
Joined
6 May 2007
Posts
2,828
Reaction score
19
Location
Germiston
Sean, I have also had two nanos and a Pico ran without sump or skimmer. I won't reccommend it for anything than a really low bioload. However, I have never seen this being done on systems larger than 50L.
 
Joined
24 May 2007
Posts
11,995
Reaction score
126
Location
North of Durban and South of Mozambique
The reason I ask is that I saw a guys setup yesterday (he has only started) and have no space fo anything else except for the main display. And I thought maybe starting this thread (I also introduced him to this site) so others that have the same problem and that would like to start a marine tank, at least have the option of going "bare".
Cybervic did give an interesting link and I also found some other systems on Reef Central. I will try and get some link later on.
Interesting fact is that some of these tanks have been running for years, especially in the States, but they use an organic type of bacteria in their display that sorts out all the bad stuff.
 
Joined
4 Jun 2007
Posts
453
Reaction score
6
Location
Kimberley
My question is this? How does it work at sea? Yes I know about the large 100% water changes 3 times a day. But surely there should be a way to get an aquarium into such a state of equilibrium that it is possible to run skimmerless. Maybe with the right refugium setup it is possible.

Dunno but sure gonna try it within the next year or so. Space is just a problem atm
 
Joined
24 May 2007
Posts
11,995
Reaction score
126
Location
North of Durban and South of Mozambique
The live rock is the filter bed, you can run a tank like this but there are rules to stocking levels. I really wouldn't run a tank sumpless because of the oily film that develops on the water surface. Here is a pic of a system that ran with out a sump, canister filter only had a hang on skimmer. It also has no halides only T5 tubes. So yes low tech systems are possible.

Sorry seem to be having problems with photobucket, will load later
Any news on this Alan???
 

herkie

R.I.P.
Joined
18 May 2007
Posts
884
Reaction score
4
Location
The Bay of KZN
bare tank

Hi Sean go to Reptile city at Mposa when you fetch water next time. Theres a tank with a tiny power filter and energy saver bulbs for lighting. It has been running for about a year now and has a few tube worms that started growing there by itself. Last time I was there it had one fish in it.
Cheers Herkie
 

Alan

Admin
Joined
4 May 2007
Posts
5,974
Reaction score
123
Location
KZN
Okay here are the pics like i said as far as i can remember it didn't have a sump[was a really long thread on RC] and it did ran with a hang on skimmer, with T5 lights and no MH, it is a chap Ivan from RC.
1.jpg


2.jpg


teil2.jpg


ganz.jpg
 
Joined
6 May 2007
Posts
3,008
Reaction score
17
Location
Empangeni
Um...that sure is interesting... looking at the pics you would say this tank had all the bells....
 

Similar threads


Top