Nitrates, Phosphates and water changes

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by dogstar, 29 Jul 2009.

  1. dogstar

    dogstar

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    505
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    jhb
    So, using my tropic marin kit for Nitrates and my Salifert kit for Phos, i get a 0 reading for both, yet i am having algae issues - so its all getting used up by the algae.

    If i do a water change, does this still help reduce my nitrates and phos if they already zero? (assume i dont remove any detritus, by siphoning my sand or blowing the rocks out, just a straight water change)
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Broder

    Broder Mudshark

    Joined:
    13 Sep 2007
    Posts:
    2,087
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    East London
    How can you reduce your NO3 and PO4 below 0? Is the algae just growing on some of the rocks? Or is it all over the tank?
     
  4. dogstar

    dogstar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    505
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    jhb
    its growing on the rocks
     
  5. Tony

    Tony

    Joined:
    23 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    4,093
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Honeydew, Johannesburg
    You will get zero readings because they are tied up in the rocks itself and the algae. The released nitrates and phosphates released into the system from the rocks are being used up by the algae, aggravating things. Try Prodibio, it will sort you out in a month as it uses the pollutants tied up in the rocks and substrate
     
  6. Furbz

    Furbz

    Joined:
    12 May 2008
    Posts:
    2,202
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Sandton
    is prodibio coral safe? i have 1 rock in my entire setup that has GHA and it wont go away. problem is the corals that are attached to this rock.
    if i start dosing prodibio will this rid me on my little patch of GHA?
     
  7. dogstar

    dogstar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    505
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    jhb
    Already using prodibio for 2 months. Looks like the growth i slowing down. Will keep using it, seems to be working.
     
  8. Tony

    Tony

    Joined:
    23 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    4,093
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Honeydew, Johannesburg
    Furbs. Its coral safe so no worries
     
  9. Broder

    Broder Mudshark

    Joined:
    13 Sep 2007
    Posts:
    2,087
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    East London
    If you don't succeed in a couple of months, then maybe look at adding an algae turf scrubber to your system. In effect you'd be creating ideal growing conditions on the actual screens for the algae and obstructing growth in the tank by having high Kelvin rated lights, say 14000k.
     
  10. dogstar

    dogstar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    505
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    jhb
    Always wanted to add an algae turf scrubber. I dont have space to put one. No space in/above my sump (kinda got shafted with a crap design on the second hand cabinet i got with the tank), and no space on either side of my tank.

    If i ever decide to move my tank, i am going to make sure i have enough space for an ATS, seems like the best way to deal with nuisance algae.
     
  11. Broder

    Broder Mudshark

    Joined:
    13 Sep 2007
    Posts:
    2,087
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    East London
    Above your tank? You could pump water from your sump up to a scrubber above your tank and then let it drain into your tank. That way your tank gets the full benefit of all the copods etc coming off the screens. You could even create a surge action into your tank if you're DIY inclined.
     
  12. dogstar

    dogstar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    505
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    jhb
    cant add above, without building a shelf for the unit - which will not go down well cause the tank is in my lounge.

    I am thinking of tapping the overflow pipe (which feeds the skimmer, and skimmer then feeds the sump). That way the ATS is gravity fed, and i use a small pump to to return the water to the sump. Only concern is how much water is siphoned out the DT in the event of a power failure. Might flood the ATS, and spill over to the carpet.

    I dunno if this will affect the performance of the skimmer?

    Think this is a good idea?
     
  13. Broder

    Broder Mudshark

    Joined:
    13 Sep 2007
    Posts:
    2,087
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    East London
    It must drain into the sump, you can't match the flow rate with a pump. gravity feed does not give you much pressure though.
     
  14. Tony

    Tony

    Joined:
    23 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    4,093
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Honeydew, Johannesburg
    Prodibio will sort your problems out chop chop and reduce your nitrates and phosphates trapped in your substrate and rocks so you don't have problems further down the line
     
  15. dogstar

    dogstar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    505
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    jhb
    Here is kinda what my setup looks like:
    [​IMG]

    My cabinet has a support in the middle, so my sump cant fit under. I have the sump on the side, long side facing the cabinet, short side facing the front. Skimmer has to sit ontop of the sump in order to feed it.

    From overflow, water goes down a pipe to the skimmer, skimmer feeds sump, sump feeds back to the tank.

    Only place for ATS is on the one side of the cabinet. But here, i cant have it feed the sump by gravity, cause the sump wall is high, doesn't leave much space for the unit.

    Thats why only thought i had was tap the overflow pipe, put the unit in the side of the cabinet and feed via pump back to the sump.

    Tony, i am using the prodibio, but an ATS system seems the more natural solution.
     
  16. Broder

    Broder Mudshark

    Joined:
    13 Sep 2007
    Posts:
    2,087
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    East London
    I can't really see any solutions from the diagram. Possibly post a photo of your system in the Agae Turf Scrubber thread, and lets see what the other members suggest?
     
  17. dogstar

    dogstar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    505
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    jhb
    okay, will take a pic this evening, thanks for you help thusfar Mudshark
     
  18. Tony

    Tony

    Joined:
    23 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    4,093
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Honeydew, Johannesburg
    You cant run prodibio and an ATS or any form of macroalgae, the prodibio will starve them of nutrients and destroy macroalgae which is it's purpose. You don't even need a DSB with prodibio
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Nitrates Phosphates water Forum Date
Reducing Nitrates & Phosphates Water Parameters and Additives Monday at 15:15
increasing nitrates to get rid of phosphates? General Discussions and Advice 24 Sep 2013
Nitrates too low? Water Parameters and Additives 4 Nov 2016
Urgent help needed Nitrates very high!! Help Urgent Help Needed 22 Jan 2016
hi nitrates General Discussions and Advice 11 Sep 2013
Nitrates too high!!! General Discussions and Advice 24 Jun 2013
jclaas - Need advice on lowering Nitrates and Phospates Water Parameters and Additives 11 Jun 2013